- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Tim Thomas is already thinking Stanley Cup playoffs

Posted By Mike Petraglia On December 8, 2010 @ 11:55 am In General | No Comments

The veterans on the Bruins who have been around the block a few times realize that Tuesday night’s 3-2 overtime win against Buffalo was just another win in December. But they also realize that it’s significant for one very important reason.

When you get to April and May and the Stanley Cup [1] playoffs, there are no shootouts and you need to find a way to win overtime games. Another satisfying aspect of this early-December win was the fact the Bruins trailed 2-1 against Ryan Miller [2] – one of the best goalies in the sport – with less than seven minutes remaining in regulation. So before winning in overtime the Bruins had to force the extra period.

The Bruins took advantage of a turnover in front of the Buffalo net and Nathan Horton [3] scored his second goal in as many games to tie the game, 2-2. Again, just like April and May, teams with Cup aspirations need to find a way to just force overtime when you’re down a goal.

“I mean just to come back being down two to one in the third period, but then to finish it off that’€™s the key because I mean if… theoretically every game that you play in is a Stanley Cup run there are no shootouts in the Stanley Cup playoffs, you need to find a way to win that in overtime,” Bruins goalie Tim Thomas [4] said. “So that’€™s what we did tonight and that’€™s a good thing.”

And you need your goalie to make big saves in overtime – just like Thomas did on Derek Roy on the doorstep just 40 seconds into the overtime. And in the Stanley Cup playoffs, you get bizarre circumstances – like scoring the winning goal, only to have play continue for about a minute before a stoppage and video review confirmed Mark Recchi [5]‘s game-winning deflection off Dennis Seidenberg [6]‘s blast from the high slot.

“I don’€™t know if I have ever been a part of a game like that,” Thomas said. “I’€™ve seen it on TV and stuff a couple times and actually by the time we actually got a whistle I’€™d forgotten about that goal. So, when I happened to glance up, I didn’€™t get to see if the puck went in on the replay but the crowd was happy, so I just started celebrating hoping that the crowd was right.”

Claude Julien [7] knows Tuesday was important for another reason – his team won a game in overtime, with the help of offensive-minded defensemen Seidenberg and Zdeno Chara [8] on the power play.

“It’€™s been tough for us, I think, in that area. Number one, as you saw, we used three forwards and one D to try to get some more offense on that five-minute overtime, four-on-four,” Julien said. “Most of our offense has been coming from up front. At the same time, we haven’€™t been very good in shootouts. We don’€™t have a very good percentage as a group, so I guess, for the time being, you try to adjust and try and put the odds on your side. We went that way and ended up on the power play and were able to score.”

Recchi added final perspective on the significance of the December win.

“It’€™s important,” Recchi said. “We’€™d like not to get [to overtime], but if we do get there then you’€™ve got to be good and you’€™ve got to be sharp. We use our bench very well, so guys are pretty fresh when it comes and we don’€™t have over-tired people. It’€™s good. Timmy [Thomas] came off a big save and then we were able to capitalize on the power play.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/12/08/tim-thomas-is-already-thinking-stanley-cup-playoffs/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Ryan Miller: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ryan-miller.htm

[3] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[4] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[5] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[6] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[7] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[8] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[9] > Tim Thomas is already thinking Stanley Cup playoffs" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/12/08/tim-thomas-is-already-thinking-stanley-cup-playoffs/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.