- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins look to pick up third straight win as they face Steven Stamkos’ Lightning

Posted By DJ Bean On December 28, 2010 @ 5:14 am In General | No Comments

The Bruins, fresh off of jumping into first place in the Northeast division with their 3-2 shootout win over the Panthers on Monday, will take on the Lightning, who lead the Southeast division, on Tuesday night. It’s the second of five straight road games for the Bruins, and the second of three games in four days.

The last time the Bruins faced the Lightning, they won in blowout fashion, crushing Tampa Bay, 8-1, at TD Garden on Dec. 2. The two teams have split the season series thus far, as the Lightning grabbed a 3-1 win at St. Pete Times Forum on Nov. 22.

The Lightning have won six of their last seven games, while the Bruins are winners of their last two.

Tuukka Rask [1] and Brad Marchand [2] were the only Bruins to take the ice on Tuesday morning, suggesting it will be Tim Thomas [3] in net.

WHERE IT’S AT

- The Lightning are 10-2-2 in Tampa and are a perfect 4-0-0 in home games this month.

- The Bruins are 10-5-1 on the road this season. Their shootout win on Monday was just their second road victory of the month, the first of which came on Dec. 1 in Philadelphia.

NOTABLE NUMBERS

- Steven Stamkos is back on track following his statistical hiccup that lasted from late November into the beginning of the month. He has scored seven goals in his last eight games and has 28 on the season.

- Milan Lucic [4]‘s scoreless streak has now reached four games and he has one point in the last six contests. Lucic had two points when the B’s faced the Lightning on Dec. 2.

- David Krejci [5] and Michael Ryder [6] starred in that 8-1 Bruins victory over the Lightning earlier this month with three points apiece. Both Krejci and Ryder had a pair of points in Monday’s win over the Panthers, and with their line with Blake Wheeler [7] clicking, they’re certainly a couple of players worth keeping an eye on.

- After having three goals entering last Thursday’s game vs. the Rangers, Vincent Lecavalier has doubled that in his last two games. He has a pair of goals in Sunday night’s 3-2 overtime victory over the Thrashers.

- After Monday, it’s now been five straight games without a start for Rask. If┬áThomas starts against the the Thrashers on Thursday, Rask will have gone more than two weeks without seeing any playing time. Thomas has been stellar in his last two starts, so the Bruins face some serious difficulty in trying to get Rask game experience to keep him sharp.

STORLYLINES GOING IN

- The Lucic – Savard – Horton line has not produced a goal in either of the two game s since it came into being in last week’s line shuffle. In fact, of the four non-special-teams goals the team has scored in the last two contests, half have come from Krejci, with Shawn Thornton [8] scoring the other two.

- Will this one go to overtime, too? Judging by the opponent, it wouldn’t be surprising. The Lightning’s last three games have been decided either in overtime or a shootout. They’re 2-0-1 in that stretch.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/12/28/bruins-look-to-pick-up-third-straight-win-as-they-face-steven-stamkos-lightning/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[2] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[3] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[4] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[5] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[6] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[7] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[8] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[9] > Bruins look to pick up third straight win as they face Steven Stamkos’ Lightning" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2010/12/28/bruins-look-to-pick-up-third-straight-win-as-they-face-steven-stamkos-lightning/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.