- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins return to Garden for first time since kicking off hot streak

Posted By DJ Bean On January 6, 2011 @ 10:33 am In General | 1 Comment

The Bruins have begun to catch fire since pounding the Thrashers, 4-1, at the Garden on Dec. 23. They have points in each of their last six games, coming away with four wins in a stretch that’s seen them go 4-0-2. On Thursday, they face a Wild team that has won two in a row and is two points out of a playoff spot in the Western Conference.

WHERE IT’S AT

– The B’s haven’t played at the Garden since their statement game against the Thrashers, On the season, they are 9-6-3 at home, including their season-opening loss in Prague.

– The Wild are 3-1-1 in their last five away games. Their road record is identical to the Bruins’ home record at 9-6-3.

NOTABLE NUMBERS

– It’s been a tale of two Tylers, so to speak, regarding Tyler Seguin [1] and his production at home and on the road. Seguin has picked up just three of his 13 points in home games, and has scored just one goal at TD Garden. Here are his splits:

Home (17 games): 1 G, 2 A, 3 P, minus-5

Road (19 games): 5 G, 5 A, 10 P, plus-7

Milan Lucic [2] is among the guys who have fared just about the same regardless of location. He’s split his 28 points right down the middle, picking up 14 at home and 14 on the road.

– The Bruins have gone 0-for-6 on the power play over their last three games, which suggests they could stand to draw a few more penalties and capitalize when they do so. The Wild have kill off 81.2 percent of their penalties this season, which puts them 19th in the league in penalty kill percentage.

– Minnesota winger Martin Havlat has four assists in his last four games and has totaled 27 this season. The numbers aren’t all pretty for Havlat, as he was a minus-four on Sunday against the Coyotes in a 6-5 overtime loss.

STORYLINES GOING IN

– Who will center the second line? Claude Julien [3] gave Tyler Seguin a good deal of time between Patrice Bergeron [4] and Mark Recchi [5] in the Monday’s 2-1 victory over the Maple Leafs. The coach said Tuesday that he feels comfortable using the two interchangeably in the middle and on the left wing, as Bergeron got plenty of experience at wing early on in his career.

– The Lucic-Savard-Horton line looks as though it has finally gotten going, as it was able to produce goals from both Nathan Horton [6] (his first in nine games) and Marc Savard [7] on Monday. Horton finished the night with a pair of points.

– With the five-game road-trip in the mirror, this game kicks off a rather difficult stretch over the next eight games. Their coming opponents include the Canadiens, Penguins [8] (twice), Flyers, and Hurricanes (twice).


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/01/06/bruins-return-to-garden-for-first-time-since-kicking-off-hot-streak/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[4] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[5] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[6] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[7] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[8] Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[9] > Bruins return to Garden for first time since kicking off hot streak" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/01/06/bruins-return-to-garden-for-first-time-since-kicking-off-hot-streak/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.