- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins and Flyers tied after one

Posted By DJ Bean On January 13, 2011 @ 7:48 pm In General | 1 Comment

An oddball goal from Scott Hartnell and a Zdeno Chara [1] snipe on a two-man advantage have the Flyers and Bruins tied at one after a period of play.

After Hartnell made it 1-0 by batting a puck in mid-air past Tim Thomas [2] from behind the net, a pair of hooking penalties gave the B’s a two-man advantage. Marc Savard [3] stood out on the 5-on-3, nearly scoring in front of the net and making the pass to set up a blast from Chara from the point.

David Krejci [4] is getting big opportunities but is an early candidate for post-game questions about being snakebitten. The skilled center intercepted a pass in the first minute in the Flyers’ end but couldn’t control it well enough to fire a shot from the dot. With 6:36 in the period, Krejci decked out front and brought Boucher with him.

The good news on Krejci’s missed opportunity late in the period was that he drew a Mike Richards [5] hooking call on the play. Hartnell and Braydon Coburn added hooking penalties later in the period, and Chara tied it up on the 5-on-3.

Shawn Thornton [6] did indeed go after Jody Shelley, and the two squared off in a bout that left Thornton bloodied. Shelley delivered a shove from behind to Adam McQuaid on Dec. 11

The Flyers are outshooting the B’s, 13-11.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/01/13/bruins-and-flyers-tied-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[2] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[3] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Mike Richards: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mike-richards.htm

[6] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[7] > Bruins and Flyers tied after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/01/13/bruins-and-flyers-tied-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.