- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins chase Cam Ward early, lead 3-0 after one

Posted By DJ Bean On January 17, 2011 @ 1:45 pm In General | No Comments

Generally, defensemEn can be responsible for their own goaltender being chased from a game, but the Bruins blueliners did the damage in the first period, ending Cam Ward [1]‘s day early and piling it on from there. The B’s lead, 3-0.

Mark Stuart [2], who had missed the last 18 games due to a broken right hand and a dislocated finger, go the Bruins with a slapshot from the point at 7:56. It was his seventh goal of the season.

Milan Lucic [3] though he’d made it 2-0 when he took a pass from David Krejci [4] and fired it past Ward, but after celebration and confusion, it was deemed that he was touching up slashing call on Zdeno Chara [5]. The B’s defenseman made up for it when he took a pass from Adam McQuaid out of the box and brought it up for a 2-on-1 with Mark Recchi [6]. The B’s captain kept the puck and scored on a wrist-shot to make it 2-0.

Ward was yanked following the goal, though Chara would break in replacement Justin Peters with a power play tally at 15:58.

McQuaid picked up assists on the first two goals, giving him his first career multi-point game. It is Chara’s ninth two-goal game.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/01/17/bruins-chase-cam-ward-early-lead-3-0-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Cam Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-ward.htm

[2] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[3] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[7] > Bruins chase Cam Ward early, lead 3-0 after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/01/17/bruins-chase-cam-ward-early-lead-3-0-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.