- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Brad Marchand, Milan Lucic have Bruins leading Avalanche

Posted By DJ Bean On January 22, 2011 @ 3:47 pm In General | No Comments

Some funny bounces and a fight have the Bruins leading the Avalanche, 2-1, after one in Denver on Saturday.

The Avalanche jumped out to an early lead on a flukey Paul Stastny goal that bounced off Dennis Seidenberg [1] before going in.

Brad Marchand [2] tied the game at 9:20. A Mark Recchi [3] pass deflected off an Avalanche player before making its way to the front of the net, where Marchand was trying to outmuscle Ryan O’Byrne. The puck appeared to hit O’ Byrne’s skate before Marchand sent it past Craig Anderson for his 11th goal of the season.

O’Byrne did further damage to the Avalanche’s case Saturday when he sent the puck over the glass in his own zone, landing him a costly delay of game penalty. With the B’s on the power play, David Krejci [4] fired a shot off the end boards that bounced in front. Anderson was unable to control it, and Milan Lucic [5] flew in to send it past the Avalanche netminder for his career-high 18th goal of the season. Recchi got the secondary assist, giving him a pair of helpers in the period.

O’Byrne would take another penalty when he went off at 15:51 for roughing Gregory Campbell [6]. The B’s went 1-for-2 on the power play. They were not shorthanded in the first period.

The lone fight of the period was between Campbell and Cody McLeod following Stastny’s goal. The bout itself was non-eventful, though it accomplished Campbell’s objective of shifting the momentum in the Bruins’ favor. The B’s controlled the tempo of the period from there, scoring both their goals and rattling off a 12-0 shots on goal stretch.

One interesting but ultimately not too surprising bit is that Mark Stuart [7] is a healthy scratch, allowing Adam McQuaid into the lineup. While such a scenario would seem suspicious earlier in the year, Claude Julien [8] is simply giving all seven defensemen — who have played well — an opportunity to get ice time without missing long stretches.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/01/22/brad-marchand-milan-lucic-have-bruins-leading-avalanche/

URLs in this post:

[1] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[2] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[3] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[6] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[7] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[8] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[9] > Brad Marchand, Milan Lucic have Bruins leading Avalanche" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/01/22/brad-marchand-milan-lucic-have-bruins-leading-avalanche/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.