- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins, Hurricanes scoreless after one

Posted By WEEI On February 1, 2011 @ 7:47 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins and Hurricanes are scoreless after a period, with the B’s outshooting Carolina, 15-10.

The Bruins were shorthanded twice in the period, with Daniel Paille [1] and Michael Ryder [2] going off for hooking and interference, respectively. Neither Hurricanes power plays yielded goals, though Paille had a breakaway opportunity for the Bruins when he hopped out of the box. Tim Thomas [3] made some big saves, and even went without his mask for a few seconds, on the first penalty kill.

Milan Lucic [4] and Jay Harrison dropped the gloves briefly, though the fight yielded very few punches before beanbag broken up.

with Lucic in the box, Claude Julien [5] went with tweaked lines, and a line of Wheeler-Campbell-Thornton would have produced the game’s first goal were it not for Cam Ward [6] robbing Blake Wheeler [7] in front.

The period ended with a bang, as Steven Kampfer crushed fellow rookie Jeff Skinner accepted a pass coming into the Bruins’ zone.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/02/01/bruins-hurricanes-scoreless-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[2] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[3] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[4] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[5] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[6] Cam Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-ward.htm

[7] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[8] > Bruins, Hurricanes scoreless after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/02/01/bruins-hurricanes-scoreless-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.