- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Tyler Seguin, Brad Marchand have Bruins leading Red Wings

Posted By DJ Bean On February 13, 2011 @ 1:16 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins have a 2-1 lead after a period at Joe Louis Arena, which is a big step up after never leading in Friday’s 6-1 loss.

Tyler Seguin [1], playing for the first time in three games, got the Bruins on the board when he banged home a Jimmy Howard rebound off a Blake Wheeler [2] wraparound at 1:29. The goal was credited to Wheeler, with Seguin getting the assist, but a review should clarify that it was Seguin’s goal. Should he rightfully be given credit, it will be his last three games.

UPDATE: The scoring was indeed changed to give Seguin the goal. Wheeler and Michael Ryder [3] got assists.

Brad Marchand [4] had an up and down first period for the Bruins. He made a blind pass in front of the Bruins’ net with only he and Todd Bertuzzi [5] in the zone. Bertuzzi gained possession in front of Tim Thomas [6], took his time, and beat the B’s netminder for his third goal against Boston in two games.

Marchand would make up for his blunder, as he gave the B’s a 2-1 lead by scoring his 16th of the season off a beautiful pass from Ryder. The Wings will begin the second on the power play, as Ryder has 1:06 remaining on a roughing minor he took late in the period.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/02/13/tyler-seguin-brad-marchand-have-bruins-leading-red-wings/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[2] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[3] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[4] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[5] Todd Bertuzzi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/todd-bertuzzi.htm

[6] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[7] > Tyler Seguin, Brad Marchand have Bruins leading Red Wings" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/02/13/tyler-seguin-brad-marchand-have-bruins-leading-red-wings/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.