- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins tied with Leafs entering third

Posted By DJ Bean On February 15, 2011 @ 8:42 pm In General | 1 Comment

The Bruins and Maple Leafs each tallied a goal for the second straight period Tuesday night, and the teams enter the third period tied, 2-2.

A Maple Leafs shot from the point bounced off a Bruins’ skate at around the hashmarks, and with Tim Thomas [1] out of position, Mikhail Grbovski took advantage of an open net to give the Leafs their first lead of the night.

With Grabovski in the box for high-sticking later in the period, Brad Marchand [2] fired a shot on James Reimer, with Gregory Campbell [3] whacked the rebound into the net from out of mid-air to tie the game up.

The Bruins drew three penalties in the second period, the third of which they converted on. Dion Phaneuf went off for slashing Milan Lucic [4] at 8:37, while some tougher play from Tyler Seguin [5] in front of the Leafs’ net produced a Keith Aulie interference minor at 12:26. Grabovski went off for high-sticking Mark Stuart [6] at 16:44.

David Krejci [7] had multiple opportunities on Leafs netminder James Reimer in the period, but Reimer came up big, stuffing Krejci when he elected to shoot and Lucic when the center dished it.

Through two, the B’s have a 25-19 advantage in shots on goal.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/02/15/bruins-tied-with-leafs-entering-third/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[2] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[3] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[4] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[5] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[6] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[7] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[8] > Bruins tied with Leafs entering third" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/02/15/bruins-tied-with-leafs-entering-third/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.