- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Meet new Bruins forward Rich Peverley

Posted By DJ Bean On February 18, 2011 @ 6:13 pm In General | 1 Comment

In addition to landing the big fish in Tomas Kaberle [1] Friday, the Bruins made a move that both cleared salary and improved their 2010-11 roster by sending Blake Wheeler [2] and Mark Stuart [3] to the Thrashers in exchange for forward Rich Peverley [4] and defenseman Boris Valabik. While Valabik doesn’€™t figure to have an immediate impact on the NHL [5] club, Peverley could play a significant role for the Bruins down the stretch.

THE SKINNY

Age: 28

Draft: Undrafted

Contractual status: Has one more year remaining on his deal after this season at a very reasonable $1.325 million cap hit.

2010-11 stats: 59 games played, 14 goals, 20 assists, 34 points, minus-16.

WHAT HE BRINGS

Peter Chiarelli noted Friday that Peverley’€™s 161 shots this season would be second on the Bruins. What he didn’€™t note is that Peverley has as many goals this season (14) as Nathan Horton [6]. Experienced at both center and wing, he figures to fit into the mix as a third-line winger, though that complicates the rest of the bottom six.

It will be interesting to see what this means for Tyler Seguin [7] and the entire dynamic of the bottom six forwards. Chiarelli said Friday that he sees the team keeping the fourth line intact, but it’€™s hard to imagine Seguin sitting much if he continues to play the way he did Thursday.

The B’€™s might be better off sitting Daniel Paille [8] ‘€“ who has played very well this month but missed four games with a suspension ‘€“ and playing a guy like Chris Kelly [9] on the fourth line. Chiarelli reiterated Friday that the team traded for Kelly to replace Marc Savard [10], but right now there are simply too many bodies to make sense of it all.

WHY THEY MADE THE DEAL

At face value, this appears to be a smart move for the Bruins for both this season and next season. Wheeler, who carries a $2.2 million cap hit, will be a restricted free agent at season’€™s end. Given that Peverley, who has out-produced Wheeler this season, will definitely be around for another season at nearly $900,000 saves the team money as they look into potentially re-upping Kaberle. The money saved between Wheeler and Peverley obviously won’€™t be the ultimate difference in whether they have the space to retain their new blueliner, but it helps.

HE SAID

‘€œI just, I like to use my speed. That’€™s probably my number one asset, my speed and my quickness. I do like to shoot the puck a lot and make plays offensively. I’€™ve really been working on my faceoffs these past two years, learned a lot in Nashville when I was there from a lot of guys. It’€™s a big thing, I take a lot of pride in it being a really faceoff guy. I know there are some guys there who are already really good at faceoffs so hopefully I can help out in that category also.’€

CHIARELLI SAID

‘€œAdding Chris Kelly was a lot in part to replace Marc Savard. Obviously he’€™s not the same player as Marc Savard, but he’€™s a two-way player that can help out down the middle. And Peverley was to maintain speed and skill and to get better shooting. We scored more goals this year but I still think we can improve our shooting. And he’€™s got a real good shot and he will help us improve that.’€


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/02/18/meet-new-bruins-forward-rich-peverley/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tomas Kaberle: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tomas-kaberle.htm

[2] Blake Wheeler: http://media.weei.com/hockey/blake-wheeler.htm

[3] Mark Stuart: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-stuart.htm

[4] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[5] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[6] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[7] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[8] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[9] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[10] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[11] > Meet new Bruins forward Rich Peverley" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/02/18/meet-new-bruins-forward-rich-peverley/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.