- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins, Lightning scoreless after one

Posted By DJ Bean On March 3, 2011 @ 7:42 pm In General | 1 Comment

The Bruins and Lightning are as close as it gets in the standings. It seems that has translated to Thursday’s game, as the two teams are scoreless after a period of play at the Garden.

The Lightning outshot the Bruins, 10-8, in the period. After an ill-advised maneuver by Tim Thomas [1] behind his net early on, he had to rush back to make a kick-save on Teddy Purcell. Thomas later robbed Mattias Ritola in front with just over 12 minutes left in the period, but the Milan Lucic [2] went to the box afterwards for a clear-as-day cross-check.

Simon Gagne had a great opportunity on the power play, but went the puck across the crease. With 25 seconds remaining on the penalty, Steven Stamos beat Thomas with a wrist-shot but clanked it off the post.

Adam Hall drew the Lightning’s only penalty, going off for hooking David Krejci [3] at 10:47. The Bruins are now 1-for-14 on the power play since Tomas Kaberle [4] entered the fold, though they’re getting their chances.

Brad Marchand [5] led the B’s with two shots in the period. Lightning goalie Mike Smith made a big stop on Patrice Bergeron [6] on perhaps the Bruins’ best scoring opportunity thus far.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/03/03/bruins-lightning-scoreless-after-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[2] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[3] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[4] Tomas Kaberle: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tomas-kaberle.htm

[5] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] > Bruins, Lightning scoreless after one" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/03/03/bruins-lightning-scoreless-after-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.