|Video: Brad Marchand’s hit on R.J. Umberger||03.16.11 at 9:59 am ET|
People aren’t too happy about Brad Marchand‘s hit on R.J. Umberger in the second period of Tuesday night’s 3-2 shootout win. Some are even wondering whether Marchand could face discipline despite not being called for a penalty. Take a look.
In the day and age of Rule 48, it’s no wonder such a hit is being scrutinized by fans. It falls right in line with the penalty, even if it wasn’t called:
48.1 Illegal Check to the Head – A lateral or blind side hit to an opponent where the head is targeted and/or the principal point of contact is not permitted.
“I haven’t seen it, but I’ve heard he might have left his feet with an elbow,” Umberger said, according to Puck-Rakers. “That’s what it felt like. … You’ve got to think that’s one of the hits we are trying to eliminate, whether it’s inadvertent or not.”
- Public Skate: Bruins vs. Rangers, Third Period. FINISH THEM.
- Bruins vs. Rangers Game 5 Preview: Please close this out
- Relax, the sky isn't falling
- NHL Draft 2013: An Interactive Visualization of Drafts of Years Past
- Fresh Links: "Buckneresque" Edition
- Madison Square Garden is awful.*
- Friday Morning Skate: It Was Never Going To Be A Sweep