- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Zdeno Chara has two assists as Bruins lead Habs

Posted By DJ Bean On March 24, 2011 @ 7:48 pm In General | No Comments

Turns out gloves didn’t need to be dropped in order for the Bruins to make a statement, as they lead the Canadiens, 3-0, after one.

Johnny Boychuk [1] opened the scoring at 1:01, scoring his second goal of the season off a rebound from a Zdeno Chara [2] shot. The B’s captain would also get an assist on Gregory Campbell’s tally, and with Boychuk also assisting, both blueliners have multi-point nights. Nathan Horton [3] scored late in the period on the power play after drawing a high-sticking double-minor from Tomas Plekanec.

There were no fights in the period, and the Habs had two penalties to the Bruins’ one. After a bad turnover in his own zone, Dennis Seidenberg [4] tripped Travis Moen in front of Tim Thomas [5]‘ net.With Seidenberg in the box, Chris Kelly [6] had a great shift on the kill, laying out to disrupt a P.K. Subban slapshot and later drawing a Roman Hamrlik hold on a shorthanded bid.

The B’s are outshooting the Habs, 18-9.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/03/24/zdeno-chara-has-two-assists-as-bruins-lead-habs/

URLs in this post:

[1] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[2] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[3] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[4] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[5] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[6] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[7] > Zdeno Chara has two assists as Bruins lead Habs" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/03/24/zdeno-chara-has-two-assists-as-bruins-lead-habs/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.