- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Shawn Thornton out for Bruins, Michael Ryder and Steven Kampfer make return to lineup

Posted By DJ Bean On March 31, 2011 @ 12:11 pm In General | 1 Comment

Bruins forward Shawn Thornton [1], who recieved around 40 stitches for a gash above his right eye after being cut by a skate in Tuesday’s game, is not medically cleared to return to the lineup and will not play Thursday against the Maple Leafs. Coach Claude Julien [2] said the forward is considered day-to-day. In Thornton’s place, Michael Ryder [3] will return to the lineup after being a healthy scratch the last two games.

Thornton participated in the morning skate wearing a helmet with a shield. Tuesday will be the first game Thornton has missed all season, leaving Zdeno Chara [4], Mark Recchi [5] and Dennis Seidenberg [6] as the only Bruins to play in each game this season.

Thornton’s absence isn’t the only lineup change for the B’s Thursday. Rookie defenseman Steven Kampfer, who has not played since March 17 in Nashville, will play in place of Johnny Boychuk [7] as part of Julien’s plan to keep everybody fresh for the playoffs. Julien suggested that Shane Hnidy, who has not played an NHL [8] game this season, could play Saturday


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/03/31/shawn-thornton-out-for-bruins-michael-ryder-and-steven-kampfer-make-return-to-lineup/

URLs in this post:

[1] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[2] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[3] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[4] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[5] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[6] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[7] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[8] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[9] > Shawn Thornton out for Bruins, Michael Ryder and Steven Kampfer make return to lineup" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/03/31/shawn-thornton-out-for-bruins-michael-ryder-and-steven-kampfer-make-return-to-lineup/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.