- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins Ryde penalty shot goal to division title

Posted By DJ Bean On April 2, 2011 @ 3:27 pm In General | No Comments

Michael Ryder [1] ended his scoring slump and gave the Bruins a 3-2 win over the Thrashers that clinched the Northeast Division Saturday at TD Garden.

Ryder, who entered the contest having gone 12 games without a goal, beat Ondrej Pavelec on a penalty shot at 12:31 of the third period to break a 2-2 tie. It was Ryder’s second game back in the lineup after being a healthy scratch for two consecutive games due to lack of production. Ryder’s penalty shot goal was the Bruins’ first since Marco Sturm [2] did it back in 2007, and it was their first at home since Ray Bourque [3] in 1994.

The Bruins also received goals from Mark Recchi [4] and Daniel Paille [5], the latter of whom’s tally served as the B’s second shorthanded goal in as many games.

Tuukka Rask [6], who allowed a shaky power-play goal in the first period and was caught out of position on the second goal, improved his record to 11-13-2 with the win.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

- Brad Marchand [7], who received the 7th Player award prior to the game, continued his recent hot streak with a first-period assist on Recchi’s goal. The helper gave him five points (2 G, 3 A) over his last four games. Marchand’s linemate, Patrice Bergeron [8], has assists in his last three games.

- Good to see Paille making the most of his time in the lineup while the opportunity is there. He did all the work for his shorthanded tally, knocking down a puck from Zach Bogosian and circling back to beat Pavelec.

- A stick-tap to Michael Berger from Mut & Merloni, who drove the WEEI.com stat truck Saturday, pointing out that Paille’s shorthanded goal was the 11th of the season for the Bruins, which put them in a tie with the Rangers for fourth in the NHL [9]. The Islanders have a league-best 14, while the Flyers and Penguins [10] each have 12.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

- Dustin Byfuglien continues to be a problem for the Bruins. In scoring his first-period tally to tie the game at one, the Thrashers defenseman picked up his third goal against the Bruins this season in four games.

- If Nathan Horton’s performance on Saturday took place in mid-to-late December, fans would throw fits. He’ll get a break for his zero-shot game Saturday due to the fact that he had five points over his previous five games.

- Shawn Thornton [11] was held out of the lineup once again due to the stitches he received Tuesday night. The game was a rather sleepy affair on both sides, and a guy like Thornton is the type you want in your lineup to ramp up the energy.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/04/02/bruins-ryde-penalty-shot-goal-to-division-title/

URLs in this post:

[1] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[2] Marco Sturm: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marco-sturm.htm

[3] Ray Bourque: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ray-bourque.htm

[4] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[5] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[6] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[7] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[8] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[9] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[10] Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[11] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[12] > Bruins Ryde penalty shot goal to division title" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/04/02/bruins-ryde-penalty-shot-goal-to-division-title/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.