- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins fall to Devils in regular season finale

Posted By DJ Bean On April 10, 2011 @ 5:20 pm In General | 1 Comment

The Bruins finished their regular season schedule Sunday, taking a 3-2 loss to the Devils in New Jersey.

Tuukka Rask [1] took the loss for the B’s, getting the start after Tim Thomas [2] sealed the single-season save percentage record in his final start Saturday. Rask allowed goals to Patrik Elias, Vladimir Zharkov and Alexander Urbom.

Rich Peverley [3] scored the first goal for the Bruins, beating Johan Hedberg for his 18th goal of the year. A Dennis Seidenberg [4] shot with less than four seconds remaining also yielded a Boston goal. Mark Recchi [5] and Zdeno Chara [6] did not play for the Bruins, as they stayed in Boston after playing the first 81 games of the season.

The Bruins finished the regular season with a 46-25-11 record and 103 points. They will be the Eastern Conference’s No. 3 seed when they go against the Canadiens in the playoffs begin next week.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

– The game didn’t mean anything, but the B’s shouldn’t have shown it the way they did in the second period. They had just one shot on the goal in the second, while the Devils had 10.

– The one injury scare came for rookie Tyler Seguin [7], who took a high stick in the second period and left the bench, though it did not appear serious and he returned to the game in the third period.

– Dennis Seidenberg was on the ice for the first two Devils goals. He took the shot that led to the the final goal, but his minus-1 rating on the game means he finishes the season with a plus-3, worst among Bruins defensemen this season.

Nathan Horton [8] did not register a shot on goal Sunday, making it the 10th game this season in which he had zero shots on goal. Horton has picked it up of late (six goals over the final 10 games), but he needs to put pucks on net if he wants them to go in.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

– Nobody was hurt, and that’s the biggest thing the Bruins could have been hoping for in a meaningless regular-season-ending game.

More importantly, Tuukka Rask did not get injured or yanked in the game. He made the save of the game on David Clarkson in the second period. Plus, imagine all the re-adjusting of the Tim Thomas record stories.

– Peverley scored for the second time in as many games. The Bruins need to have both the David Krejci [9] line and the Patrice Bergeron [10] line going at the same time once the playoffs start, but it’s good to see that they are finally getting something out of Chris Kelly’s line.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/04/10/bruins-fall-to-devils-in-regular-season-finale/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[2] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[3] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[4] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[5] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[6] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[7] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[8] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[9] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[10] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[11] > Bruins fall to Devils in regular season finale" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/04/10/bruins-fall-to-devils-in-regular-season-finale/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.