- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Michael Ryder lifts Bruins past Canadiens in Game 4 thriller

Posted By DJ Bean On April 21, 2011 @ 10:04 pm In General | 1 Comment

MONTREAL — The Bruins grabbed a gutsy win Thursday, sinking the Canadiens, 5-4, in overtime and tying the Eastern Conference quarterfinals at two games apiece. Michael Ryder [1], who had three points on the night, scored the game-winner 1:59 into OT.

The Habs jumped out to a 1-0 lead 8:13 into the first period on a shot from Brent Sopel. With just over eight minutes of scoreless play, Game 4 had the most scoreless time of any so far in the series. Ryder would tie the game in the second period, though goals from Michael Cammalleri and Andrei Kostitsyn made it a 3-1 game. The B’€™s were able to battle back in that same period, getting goals from Andrew Ference [2] and Patrice Bergeron [3] to tie it at three at the end of two.

With Patrice Bergeron in the penalty box for hooking, Habs rookie defenseman P.K Subban scored to make it 4-3 early in the third. Once again, the Habs’€™ lead would not stick, as the Bruins would tie it on a Chris Kelly [4] goal at 13:42 of the third, setting the stage for Ryder’€™s overtime heroics.

Tim Thomas [5] made 32 saves in regulation, while Carey Price [6] made 30 in the first three periods. The Bruins and Habs will play Game 5 at TD Garden on Saturday.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

‘€¢Michael Ryder scoring after taking a pass from Tomas Kaberle [7]? Ryder later setting up a critical goal? That’€™s something the Bruins had been waiting to see. While it’€™s been a while since either of those two have proven capable of playing to their potential (in Kaberle’€™s case, the argument could be made that he hasn’€™t proven it since joining the B’€™s) the thought of some of their ‘€œmoney’€ players stepping up their play is something the B’€™s would welcome.

‘€¢It was almost unbelievable the two teams were tied after Ryder’€™s goal, as the B’€™s were being handled by the Habs. Being able to tie it once may have given them a dose of resiliency, as they were able to battle through and later make up a two-goal deficit. Kelly’€™s goal gave tied it once again, proving that the team is capable of playing well from behind, an area that plagued them in Games 1 and 2.

‘€¢The Brad Marchand [8] – Bergeron – Mark Recchi [9] line continues to be the lone Boston trio with a consistent pulse. Bergeron has two goals in four games, while a lucky bounce helped give Marchand an assist on the Ference goal.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

‘€¢Going down a man just 32 seconds into the third period of a tied playoff game isn’€™t what a team is looking for, and when Subban scored on the power play with Bergeron in the box on a questionable hooking call. It was the Bruins’€™ only penalty of the game, but it was very costly.

‘€¢Terrible sportsmanship on the part of Ference after his goal. Cameras caught him giving the middle finger to Habs fans after beating Price to make it 3-2. For a series with as much chirping and after-the-whistle activity, Ference would have aplenty opportunity to do that stuff to the guys on the ice. Ference is one of the better people in the game, so there’€™s no doubt he would like to have those few seconds back.

‘€¢Milan Lucic [10] needs to make a difference in this series, and it turns out his lack of presence has made a big difference. The underperforming winger was the B’€™s best scorer in the postseason, and his quiet playoffs continued Thursday. He did have a nice pass to set up David Krejci [11] all alone in front of Price, but the center wasn’€™t able to finish.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/04/21/michael-ryder-lifts-bruins-past-canadiens-in-game-4-thriller/

URLs in this post:

[1] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[2] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[3] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[4] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[5] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[6] Carey Price: http://media.weei.com/hockey/carey-price.htm

[7] Tomas Kaberle: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tomas-kaberle.htm

[8] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[9] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[10] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[11] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[12] > Michael Ryder lifts Bruins past Canadiens in Game 4 thriller" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/04/21/michael-ryder-lifts-bruins-past-canadiens-in-game-4-thriller/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.