- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Canadiens beat Bruins to force a Game 7

Posted By DJ Bean On April 26, 2011 @ 9:40 pm In General | 1 Comment

MONTREAL — The Canadiens have forced a seventh game of the Eastern Conference finals, as they took a 2-1 victory over the Bruins Tuesday night at the Bell Centre [1]. Game 7 will be played Wednesday night in Boston.

With both Shawn Thornton [2] (serving a too many men bench minor) and Dennis Seidenberg (Slashing) in the box, Micahel Cammalleri gave the Habs a 1-0 lead on a blast from the circle at at 10:07 of the first. Seidenberg would make it 1-1 just 48 seconds into the second period, though Brian Gionta would score on another two-man advantage at 5:48 to give the Habs the lead once again.

Milan Lucic [3] was given a five-minute major and game misconduct in the second period for boarding Jaroslav Spacek. The Canadiens defenseman would remain bleeding on the ice for a few moments, though he did return to the game.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR BRUINS

- Once Lucic was tossed from the game, the Bruins didn’t get much from the top line. David Krejci [4] and Nathan Horton [5] combined for just one shot on goal (as many as Lucic had before being ejected), and it seemed Claude Julien [6] was giving looks to multiple forwards in Lucic’s absence, including Michael Ryder [7], Brad Marchand [8] and Daniel Paille [9]. It was Paille who played with the line for much if the third period.

- It’s hard for a team to win when they are on the wrong end of two separate 5-on-3s. The Habs found themselves with a two-man advantage in both the first and second periods, and scored on both of them.

Denting the B’s chances at a comeback late in the third was a high stick called on Chris Kelly [10] with 3:10 remaining in regulation. The penalty box, as it tends to be, was an enemy Boston’s Tuesday night.

- As great as Patrice Bergeron [11] has been for the Bruins this series, Tuesday was not a night to remember for the B’s center. He negated an early B’s power play (not that it’s such a bad thing) by going off for goaltender interference late in the first. He also caused one of the two-man advantages by flipping the puck over the glass in Boston’s zone.

- While the Canadiens were able to take advantage of special teams, the B’s weren’t. Their power play looked especially dreadful in going 0-for-4 on the night. Through six games, they are now 0-for-19 in this series.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR BRUINS

- Nice play by Dennis Seidenberg [12] early in the second period to step out from behind the net and beat Carey Price [13] on a quasi-wraparound. The goal was his first of the postseason, but with the goal, he now has points in each game at the Bell Centre this series. He had one assist in both Game 3 and Game 4.

- Rich Peverley [14] came ready. The third-line winger led the team with five shots on goal and picked up an assist on Seidenberg’s tally in the second period. The 28-year-old now has four points ( 1 G, 3 A) in the last four games of the series.

- The Habs appeared to score the first goal early, as Tim Thomas [15] had no idea where the puck was when it wad mere inches from his blocker. Gionta came flying in to whack it home, but an apparent earlier whistle negated the goal. The referees were more than generous with makeup calls going forward, so ultimately it didn’t pay off as much as it could have.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/04/26/canadiens-force-game-7/

URLs in this post:

[1] Bell Centre: http://media.weei.com/hockey/bell-centre.htm

[2] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[3] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[6] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[7] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[8] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[9] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[10] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[11] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[12] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[13] Carey Price: http://media.weei.com/hockey/carey-price.htm

[14] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[15] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[16] > Canadiens beat Bruins to force a Game 7" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/04/26/canadiens-force-game-7/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[17]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.