- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Peter Chiarelli: Patrice Bergeron has ‘mild concussion’, likely to miss start of Eastern finals

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 7, 2011 @ 11:25 am In General | 6 Comments

Bruins general manager Peter Chiarelli confirmed Saturday morning that Patrice Bergeron [1] is dealing with the effects of another concussion.

Bergeron, who missed nearly a full year after a severe concussion when hit by former Philadelphia defenseman Randy Jones [2] in October 2007, collided with Claude Giroux with 17:30 remaining in the third period of Friday’s Game 4 win over the Flyers. He did not return, and Chiarelli indicated he is likely to miss the start of the Eastern Conference finals against Tampa Bay, with rookie Tyler Seguin [3] getting the chance to take his spot on the roster.

“Patrice suffered a mild concussion,” Chiarelli said on Saturday, before adding that he thought the Giroux hit was “a shade late.”

While the Bruins didn’t release any information on the particulars of the injury, it appeared that Giroux’s shoulder made contact with Bergeron’s head. Bergeron slowly skated off the ice on his own power to finish his shift but didn’t return. The Boston Globe initially reported Saturday morning that Bergeron had sustained a concussion.

Chris Kelly [4] stepped up from his third-line role to center the line with Mark Recchi [5] and Brad Marchand [6]. Bergeron leads the Bruins with 12 points in 11 playoff games. The Bruins will play Games 1 and 2 at home this week against Tampa Bay, with the series possibly starting Tuesday or Thursday at TD Garden.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/07/report-patrice-bergeron-has-another-concussion/

URLs in this post:

[1] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[2] Randy Jones: http://media.weei.com/hockey/randy-jones.htm

[3] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[4] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[5] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[6] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[7] > Peter Chiarelli: Patrice Bergeron has ‘mild concussion’, likely to miss start of Eastern finals" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/07/report-patrice-bergeron-has-another-concussion/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.