- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins not worried about adjusting to new line combinations

Posted By Scott McLaughlin On May 11, 2011 @ 1:12 pm In General | 2 Comments

At this point in the season, you would expect any team still playing to have its line combinations set, and the Bruins did through the end of the regular season and the first two rounds of the playoffs. But with Patrice Bergeron [1] out with a concussion, Claude Julien [2] has had to shuffle his second and third lines.

Chris Kelly [3] has moved up to take Bergeron’s spot as the second-line center between Brad Marchand [4] and Mark Recchi [5]. Meanwhile, Michael Ryder [6] has switched from right wing to left wing to make room for Tyler Seguin [7] to be the third-line right wing. All that movement and potential unfamiliarity could be reason for concern, but Julien doesn’t see it that way.

“Those guys have gone through those kinds of things throughout the whole year,” Julien said. “I think our guys have been used to playing with each other. Even in practice, we mix and match and you see different pairings at times. I thought our guys adjusted well, and if we did decide to make some other changes, I’m sure it wouldn’t be a big issue.”

One interesting thing to note about the new lines is that the second line now consists of three left-handed shots, while the third line comprises three righties. Kelly said that shouldn’t be an issue, either.

“These guys can pick up passes on their backhand just as easy as they can pick up passes on their forehand,” Kelly said. “So I don’€™t think it’€™s anything that you need to think about or worry about.”

Of course, Recchi has played the off-wing for most of the season, so there’s no adjustment there. Ryder, on the other hand, has been on the right side for the majority of the season. Julien said Ryder is just as much at home on the left side, though.

“Mike is just as comfortable playing on the left as he is on the right, that much I know,” Julien said. “So making that change isn’t a big deal.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/11/bruins-not-worried-about-adjusting-to-new-line-combinations/

URLs in this post:

[1] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[2] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[3] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[4] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[5] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[6] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[7] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[8] > Bruins not worried about adjusting to new line combinations" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/11/bruins-not-worried-about-adjusting-to-new-line-combinations/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.