- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins drop Game 1 to Lightning

Posted By WEEI On May 14, 2011 @ 10:57 pm In General | 8 Comments

By DJ Bean and Scott McLaughlin

The Bruins put themselves in a familiar spot Saturday, as they dropped Game 1 of the Eastern Conference finals to the Lightning at home, 5-2.

The B’s lost Game 1 of the first round to the Canadiens at TD Garden before dropping Game 2 but battling back to win the series in seven games. There’s plenty of hockey left to be played, and Boston will have to hope for different results and better handling of the puck going forward.

The Lightning got their scoring out of the way with one crushing wave in the middle of the first period. Sean Bergenheim continued his league-leading scoring pace, notching his eighth goal of the postseason at 11:15, with Brett Clark [1] beating Tim Thomas [2] on a backhander 19 seconds later. Teddy Purcell scored off an ugly Tomas Kaberle [3] turnover at 12:40, making it three goals for Tampa Bay in a matter of 1:25. Marc-Andre Bergeron [4] scored the Lightning’s fourth goal on the power play at 13:37 of the third period while Simon Gagne added an empty-netter.

Tyler Seguin [5], playing in his first postseason game, a nifty goal at 15:59 of the first period. Chris Kelly’s tally came with 1:01 left in a game the Bruins had already lost.

Dwayne Roloson made 31 saves for the Lightning in the victory.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

- Two of the the goals scored by the Lightning in a matter of 85 seconds came off bad turnovers by the Bruins. With a big mess in front of Tim Thomas’ net, a stick-less Dennis Seidenberg [6] kicked the puck right onto the stick of Sean Bergenheim, who fired the puck in for his eighth goal of the playoffs.

Yet while Seidenberg’s play certainly came in a hectic moment, the sam could not be said for the third goal. Teddy Purcell skated right in and reached behind the net to mug Kaberle and tuck the puck past Thomas. Two unassisted goals against were not what the B’s were looking for.

- Foolish move by Milan Lucic [7] late in the game, as the 22-year-old winger clocked Victor Hedman in the face with 36.7 left in the game. He was tossed from the game, and should he face further discipline, a Bruins team that’s already missing Patrice Bergeron [8] could be in big trouble.

- Thomas has been great this postseason, but he would definitely like to have the Lightning’s second goal back. Brett Clark carried the puck through the neutral zone and down the right wing before beating Thomas stick-side with a fluttering backhander. Soft goals are always bad, but this one was even more devastating because it came just 19 seconds after Tampa’s first goal.

After the three goals, Thomas came up big for the B’s multiple times. He absolutely robbed Steve Downie with a little more than 5:30 left in the seconds to keep it a two-goal game.

- Seemingly in an effort to get some more life out of the Bruins’ offense, Claude Julien [9] swapped Seguin and Mark Recchi [10] in the third period. Seguin skated with Brad Marchand [11] and Chris Kelly, while Recchi went to the third line with Michael Ryder [12] and Rich Peverley [13]. Unfortunately for the Bruins, it yielded no results, and the lines reverted back to the way they began the game.

- It’s cliche at this point to list the power play as a wrong, but as long as it continues to do nothing, it’s going to be here. Normally when a team’s down by two goals, three power plays in a period would be exactly what it needs to get back in the game. Not for the Bruins, though. They didn’t even threaten on their three man advantages in the second, as they consistently struggled to enter the zone. When they did get the puck in deep, it often came right back out either due to losing puck battles or making bad passes. An example of this came when Seidenberg cycled the puck back to nobody and out of the zone. The B’s mustered only three shots in their three second-period power plays and finished the night 0-for-4.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

- It was only fitting that Seguin’s first career playoff goal be of highlight-reel variety. The rookie, who scored his first goal of the season in Prague on a Hail Mary pass from Ryder before crashing into the net, made the Garden crowd go nuts with his first-period goal. Seguin took a pass from Ryder in the neutral zone and proceeded to make Lightning defenseman Mike Lundin look foolish as the rookie used fancy stickwork to go through the defenseman before sliding it past Roloson.

It was predictable that Seguin wouldn’t get big minutes, but Claude Julien took it to a bit of an extreme, even despite the rookie’s goal. Seguin would have to wait 14:56 worth of hockey before he’d get back on the ice, as his next shift did not come until 11:55 into the second period. He had only two shifts in the second period, though he threw a nice hit on Lundin in the corner on of of them, providing a small sample of physical play, an area in which he’s rarely been engaged in his rookie year.

- Not that any of the ensuing power plays led to anything, but give David Krejci [14] for drawing a pair of Lightning infractions. The first-line center drew two different tripping calls on Tampa Bay in the second period, as both Eric Brewer and Adam Hall went off for tripping Krejci.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/14/bruins-drop-game-1-to-lightning/

URLs in this post:

[1] Brett Clark: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brett-clark.htm

[2] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[3] Tomas Kaberle: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tomas-kaberle.htm

[4] Marc-Andre Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-andre-bergeron.htm

[5] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[6] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[7] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[8] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[9] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[10] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[11] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[12] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[13] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[14] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[15] > Bruins drop Game 1 to Lightning" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/14/bruins-drop-game-1-to-lightning/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.