- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Tyler Seguin lights up Lightning, Bruins tie series

Posted By WEEI On May 17, 2011 @ 10:57 pm In General | 2 Comments

By DJ Bean and Scott McLaughlin

It was the Tyler Seguin [1] Show Tuesday, as the rookie had a four-point showing in a 6-5 Bruins win over the Lightning at the TD Garden that tied the Eastern Conference finals at one game apiece.

Seguin scored two goals, tying the game 48 seconds into the second period, and giving the B’s a 4-2 lead at 6:30 of the second. Michael Ryder [2] also had two goals for the Bruins, both of which were assisted by Seguin. Nathan Horton [3] and David Krejci [4] also scored for the Bruins. Horton and Krejci are now tied for the team lead with six goals this postseason.

The B’s chased Lightning goaltender Dwayne Roloson after two periods and six goals. It was the first time this postseason that Roloson allowed more than three goals. Tampa got its scoring from Adam Hall, Martin St. Louis, Vincent Lecavalier, Steven Stamkos and Dominic Moore. They came back from a 6-3 deficit to make it 6-5 in the third, but in the end Tim Thomas [5] and the Bruins held on.

The teams now travel to Tampa, where they will play Games 3 and 4 before returning to Boston next week for Game 5.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

– Everyone knew Seguin had all the talent in the world, but nobody expected the type of explosion that was displayed Tuesday. The 19-year-old’s pair of flashy goals made for his second and third tallies of the series. On his first goal, he blew by a pair of Lightning defenders and beat a sprawling Roloson with a nifty forehand-backhand move. Six minutes later, just moments after Thomas stoned Ryan Malone [6] on a breakaway, Seguin rifled a shot under the crossbar to give the B’s a 4-2 lead. He would contribute assists on a pair of Michael Ryder goals in the period (one of which game on — gasp — the power play) to cap an impressive four-point second period.

With six points in two games this postseason, Seguin now has half the points of Patrice Bergeron [7], who entered the game leading the team with 12 points.

Milan Lucic [8] has hardly been a force to be reckoned with this postseason, and after taking a Seguin shot off the right foot Monday and missing Tuesday’s skate, his impact on Game 2 was something many were keeping an eye on. Amidst all that, he came out like a man possessed. Lucic had four shots on goal in the first period, which had already made for his second-highest total of the postseason. Lucic played a big role in the team’s power play goal, screening Roloson alongside Horton, who tipped it in.

– As bad as the opening and closing seconds of it were, the Bruins absolutely dominated play in the first period. Though the Lightning got 11 shots on Tim Thomas, the puck possession swayed heavily in favor of the Bruins, whose nonstop possession in the offensive zone for two shifts without the puck leaving the zone caused Tampa coach Guy Boucher to call a timeout at 5:52 despite his team holding a 1-0 lead.

– The Bruins had two power-play goals in the entire postseason entering Tuesday night. They doubled that with a pair of tallies on the man advantage in Game 2. After Roloson stood on his head to deny the Bruins on an extended 5-on-3, Kaberle set up a Seidenberg one-timer that Horton deflected home with one second left on the 5-on-4. Then in the second period, Ryder collected a rebound off a Seguin shot and backhanded the puck past Roloson to make it 5-3. Perhaps just as important as the goals themselves was the fact that the power play looked good all game long. The Bruins got set up with relative ease, made clean passes and created one scoring chance after another.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

– The Bruins dominated the vast majority of the first period, but a pair of breakdowns at each end of the frame left them trailing at the intermission. The Lightning scored just 13 seconds into the game when Lecavalier sent a shot wide and Hall beat a pair of Bruins to the left doorstep and banged home the rebound. After getting outworked for the next 19-plus minutes, the Lightning struck again with just 6.5 seconds left in the period when St. Louis beat Johnny Boychuk [9] to the front of the net and tipped in Stamkos’ centering pass.

– As explosive as they were offensively, there is still a bit of sloppiness they need to clean up. Boychuk nearly gave the Lightning a goal in the first period by banking an intended pass off Tomas Kaberle [10] in front of the net. The Lightning’s second goal went off Boychuk’s skate, and he looked bad on Stamkos’ goal as well. Kaberle made things dangerous for Krejci with a buddy pass when breaking out of the Bruins’ zone. The Lightning also had a pair of breakaways, though Thomas stopped them both.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/17/tyler-seguin-lights-up-lightning-bruins-tie-series/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[2] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[3] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[6] Ryan Malone: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ryan-malone.htm

[7] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[8] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[9] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[10] Tomas Kaberle: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tomas-kaberle.htm

[11] > Tyler Seguin lights up Lightning, Bruins tie series" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/17/tyler-seguin-lights-up-lightning-bruins-tie-series/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.