- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Claude Julien isn’t about to let his team think Stanley Cup finals yet

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 20, 2011 @ 2:55 pm In General | 1 Comment

p


brightcove.createExperiences();

TAMPA — Despite a dominating defensive perfomance in Game 3 and watching his team record its first shutout of the playoffs, Bruins coach Claude Julien [1] isn’t letting his team think about what could be if they win their next two games. Julien was asked Friday if being two wins away from the team’s first Stanley Cup [2] finals appearance in 21 years provides motivation.

“We don’t even talk about that, honestly,” Julien said. “Right now, all we’ve talked about is how important a game tomorrow is for us. We don’t want to live in the past. Yesterday was yesterday. [Saturday] is what we want to talk about. We want to live in the present. And today is about getting some good rest and making sure that tomorrow we’re well rested, we’ve got the energy and the focus to do a job. That’s what we’ve been doing since the start.

“And that’s what’s helped us get through it. The same thing in Montreal. We lost the first two games. We went to Montreal not thinking about the two losses but what we had to do that night. It’s really helped us get through things, and that’s what our guys are all about right now. So I don’t have to worry about what you just asked, because we’re not thinking that way.”

The players would certainly appear to be heeding the message.

“You can’t take any situation for granted,” Milan Lucic [3] said after Friday’s mainly optional skate at St. Pete Times Forum. “You can’t take any team for granted, and that’s what we’ve done so well. We’ve got to keep being determined to push for more.”

Lucic says there no need for reinforcement of Julien’s message from veterans like Zdeno Chara [4], Mark Recchi [5] or Tim Thomas [6].

“At this point, there’s not much you can say,” Lucic added. “You’ve got to know what needs to be done, and when they speak, you can learn a lot from them. They’ve done a great job leading the way so far, and hopefully they keep leading the way and staying vocal and getting us ready for every situation.”

The Bruins play Game 4 against the Lightning Saturday afternoon at 1:30 at St. Pete Times Forum before returning to Boston for Game 5 Monday night in Boston.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/20/claude-julien-isnt-about-to-let-his-team-think-stanley-cup-finals-yet/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[3] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[4] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[5] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[6] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[7] > Claude Julien isn’t about to let his team think Stanley Cup finals yet" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/20/claude-julien-isnt-about-to-let-his-team-think-stanley-cup-finals-yet/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.