- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins can’t close out Lightning despite David Krejci hat trick

Posted By DJ Bean On May 25, 2011 @ 10:46 pm In General | 11 Comments

TAMPA — The Bruins and Lightning are heading back to Boston to decide the Eastern Conference finals, as a hat trick from David Krejci [1] was not enough to propel the B’s into the Stanley Cup [2] Finals — instead, it was a 5-4 loss in Game 6 Wednesday night.

After the Bruins erased an early 1-0 Bolts lead with goals from Milan Lucic [3] and Krejci. Tampa would come back with three unanswered goals before a back-and-forth third period left the B’s down by one following Krejci’s third goal.

Teddy Purcell did most of the Lightning’s damage to Tim Thomas [4], opening the scoring just 36 into the contest and giving Tampa a 3-2 lead 13:35 into the second period. Purcell now has six goals this postseason, three of which have come this round.

Thomas made 21 saves for the Bruins, while Dwayne Roloson stopped 15 of the Bruins’ 19 shots.

Game 7 will be played at TD Garden on Friday.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR BRUINS

- Another goal allowed very early for the Bruins. Krejci was set to take the face-off against Vincent Lecavalier and was tossed from the dot, allowing Lecavalier to go against Chris Kelly [5]. The Tampa center won it cleanly, allowing for Purcell to blast one past Thomas. It was the Lightning’s second goal in the first minute of a game this series, and third goal in the first 1:09. Amazingly, it was the only game in the aforementioned three that the Lightning won.

- Yes, Eric Furlatt was officiating and the Lightning were penalized more than the B’s, but it was Tampa that won out when it came to actually capitalizing. The Bruins’ power play looked improved with Zdeno Chara [6] in front, and Krejci scored his second of the game with the B’s on the man advantage in the third, but the Lightning went 3-for-4 as opposed to Boston’s 1-for-5.

- Once again, the Bruins simply couldn’t build momentum at St. Pete Times Forum. After blowing a 3-0 lead in Game 4, the B’s blew a 2-1 lead in the second and got no boost from Krejci’s goal that brought them within one in the third. Martin St. Louis scored 29 seconds after Krejci’s tally.

- Taking an interference penalty with 13:02 remaining in a game in which your team is trying to make a two-goal comeback probably isn’t what you want to do if you’re Tomas Kaberle [7]. The polarizing defenseman did just that in the corner on a play that left Ryan Malone [8] bloodied. Kaberle actually had a good night defensively, but the penalty won’t help his reputation around Boston as a bust of an acquisition.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

- Krejci’s hat trick gives him five goals in six Eastern Conference finals games. The dominance from the second round hasn’t been there, but the numbers have been.

- Say what you want about Lucic disappearing this postseason, but he always smells blood when his team has a chance of ending a series. Lucic had a pair of tallies in Game 4 against the Flyers in the second round last year, and had three goals in Games 6 and 7 combined against Philly last year. Taking Games 6 and 7 against the Habs this year into consideration, Lucic now has 6 goals in the last six games in which the Bruins could eliminate an opponent.

- Dennis Seidenberg [9] had a big play for the Bruins on a play in which the Lightning could have made it 4-2 late in the second. A Marc-Andre Bergeron [10] shot yielded a rebound that Steven Stamkos tapped toward the net with Thomas out of position. Seidenberg literally put his foot down, stepping in front of the puck before it could hurt the B’s and starting a circus that landed Andrew Ference [11] in the box for cross-checking Stamkos. The Lightning would score on the power play early in the second period on a goal from Stamkos, thus making the transaction a wash.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/25/bruins-cant-close-out-lightning-despite-david-krejci-hat-trick/

URLs in this post:

[1] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[2] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[3] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[4] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[5] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[6] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[7] Tomas Kaberle: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tomas-kaberle.htm

[8] Ryan Malone: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ryan-malone.htm

[9] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[10] Marc-Andre Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-andre-bergeron.htm

[11] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[12] > Bruins can’t close out Lightning despite David Krejci hat trick" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/25/bruins-cant-close-out-lightning-despite-david-krejci-hat-trick/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.