- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Claude Julien: ‘Our team needs to be positive’

Posted By Scott McLaughlin On May 27, 2011 @ 12:58 pm In General | No Comments

There were plenty of negatives for the Bruins in their Game 6 loss. From a team perspective, giving up three power-play goals obviously stands out. And from an individual perspective, you would have to start with Johnny Boychuk [1], who was on the ice for all five of the Lightning’s goal.

But with Game 7 mere hours away now, Claude Julien [2] isn’t dwelling on any of the negatives.

“This is Game 7, and sorry not to answer your question, but this is not a day or a time for me to question,” Julien said when asked about Boychuk. “I’€™m going to [abstain] from doing that today because I think our team needs to be positive, and we believe in everybody in our hockey club. So we’€™re going to stick with that motto for today.”

-One of the positives the Bruins can take from Game 6 is the play of David Krejci [3]. The first-line center notched the first playoff hat trick by a Bruin since Cam Neely [4] in 1991. Julien said the coaches have been encouraging Krejci to shoot more all season, and that Wednesday night was a perfect example of why.

“David, in his mind, is a pass-first kind of player and he always looks to pass first and foremost,” Julien said. “And we’€™ve encouraged him to shoot more because there’€™s times when he’€™s in a real good shooting position. Marc Savard [5] was the same way. Marc had a real good shot and a lot of times he’€™d look to pass instead of shooting.

“But that’€™s a natural thing that those guys normally do, from Adam Oates back in the day — they’€™re guys that that’€™s the strength of their game. So you don’€™t want them to lose that strength, but you also want them to be able to make the difference between, ‘Am I in a good shooting area or a scoring area here, where I should take the shot versus passing?’ ”

-One guy Julien (and B’s fans) would still like to see shoot more is Tomas Kaberle [6]. The veteran defenseman had one of his best games of the playoffs Wednesday night, assisting on two goals, registering a plus-1 rating and logging 19:46 of ice time, his highest total since Game 5 against Montreal. But there were still times, especially on the power play, when he passed up what appeared to be an open shot.

“The only thing you’€™ve always heard about Tomas is you’€™d like to see him shoot the puck more,” Julien said. “And there are times on the power play where, if he has that shooting lane, with Zdeno [Chara] in front, you have to shoot. It doesn’€™t have to be a big shot. It can be a wrist shot, it can be anything.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/27/claude-julien-our-team-needs-to-be-positive/

URLs in this post:

[1] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[2] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[3] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[4] Cam Neely: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-neely.htm

[5] Marc Savard: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marc-savard.htm

[6] Tomas Kaberle: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tomas-kaberle.htm

[7] > Claude Julien: ‘Our team needs to be positive’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/27/claude-julien-our-team-needs-to-be-positive/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.