- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins notes Monday: Claude Julien pumps up the volume and Rich Peverley gets the gold

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 30, 2011 @ 4:55 pm In General | No Comments

Default Player for embeding in WEEI.com columns and blogs.


brightcove.createExperiences();

The Bruins held their final practice before departing for Vancouver in preparation for Wednesday’s opening game of the 2011 Stanley Cup [1] finals at Rogers Arena.

Every player was on the ice – with the exception of defenseman Shane Hnidy – for the 45-minute skate that began at 11:35 and ended with several laps of hard skating around the rink, which was covered in a thin haze of fog by the end of the session. It was the first day back on the ice for several players since winning Game 7 Friday night against Tampa Bay.

“Conditioning doesn’t go bad,” coach Claude Julien [2] said. “We came back on the ice, and then as a whole team, it was obviously a little warm out there today. So, the ice was probably not at its best and it was a tough grind to push through this practice today, which I think is not a bad thing because we might as well get used to it.

“That’s what the buildings are like on game nights. I thought we pushed ourselves pretty good today and did a little bit of sprints at the end to make sure we raise the volume, if you want, and [Tuesday] hopefully, we’ll be really good and flying out there in Vancouver and getting ready for Wednesday.”

Shawn Thornton [3] took shifts on the fourth line with Daniel Paille [4] and Gregory Campbell [5], otherwise known as the “Merlot” line.

“They don’t get the same amount of ice time those others do,” Julien said. “And with Thorty not having played, I think it was important for them to get a regular turn at practice. And those other guys play a lot. Whether it’s Mark who we like to give a rest at times, or Bergy, who plays a lot, we kind of rotate through that. I wouldn’t read more into it than it was.”

Wearing a gold sweater, Rich Peverley [6] skated with the regular second-line unit of Patrice Bergeron [7], Mark Recchi [8] and Brad Marchand [9].

Julien moved Peverley up to the second shift during Friday’s Game 7 against Tampa Bay, replacing Recchi at times to give the line added speed with Bergeron.

Peverley told WEEI.com’s Scott McLaughlin he’s totally fine with moving from line to line [10], especially at this time of year.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/30/bruins-notes-monday-claude-julien-pumps-up-the-volume-and-rich-peverley-gets-the-gold/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[3] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[4] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[5] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[6] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[7] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[8] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[9] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[10] Peverley told WEEI.com’s Scott McLaughlin he’s totally fine with moving from line to line: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/30/rich-peverley-is-being-shuffled-all-around-the-line-chart-and-hes-perfectly-ok-with-it/

[11] > Bruins notes Monday: Claude Julien pumps up the volume and Rich Peverley gets the gold" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/05/30/bruins-notes-monday-claude-julien-pumps-up-the-volume-and-rich-peverley-gets-the-gold/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.