- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Nathan Horton done for playoffs with severe concussion

Posted By DJ Bean On June 7, 2011 @ 10:25 am In General | 19 Comments

The Bruins announced Tuesday morning that first-line right wing Nathan Horton [1] is out for the remainder of the Stanley Cup [2] finals due to a severe concussion. Horton left Monday’s 8-1 Bruins’ Game 3 win in the first period on a stretcher after taking a blindside hit to the head from Canucks defenseman Aaron Rome [3].

Horton had 17 points (eight goals, nine assists) in 21 postseason games prior to the hit, though he did not have a point in the Stanley Cup finals. He totaled 26 goals and 27 assists for 53 points in the regular season.

With Horton out, the Bruins will likely turn to Michael Ryder [4] on the first line, with Tyler Seguin [5] re-entering the lineup on the team’s third line with Chris Kelly [6] and Rich Peverley [7].


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/07/nathan-horton-done-for-playoffs-with-severe-concussion/

URLs in this post:

[1] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[2] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[3] Aaron Rome: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-rome.htm

[4] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[5] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[6] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[7] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[8] > Nathan Horton done for playoffs with severe concussion" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/07/nathan-horton-done-for-playoffs-with-severe-concussion/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.