- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins-Canucks Game 4 preview: 4 keys, stats and players to watch

Posted By DJ Bean On June 8, 2011 @ 2:20 am In General | 1 Comment

The Bruins, coming off an 8-1 win over the Canucks in Game 3 of the Stanley Cup [1] finals, have a chance to tie the series up Wednesday in Boston. Thus far in the playoffs, the Bruins have followed up their first win of a series with another one the next day. Here is a preview of Game 4:

FOUR THINGS THE BRUINS NEED TO DO

Figure out life after Nathan Horton [2], and fast: At the very least, David Krejci [3] and Milan Lucic [4] will be playing with someone they haven’€™t played with much this season, so they’€™ll need to click fast. Michael Ryder [5] and Rich Peverley [6] seem to be the best options.

Beat them physically, but watch out: The refs are going to be on extra lookout for extra curricular stuff. The Canucks might want to entice the Bruins, but the B’€™s have to keep in mind that the other guys aren’€™t interested in fighting as much as they are in drawing penalties. As for the finger stuff, there probably aren’€™t many players who want to be the one that ends up costing his team a goal because he stuck his fingers in another players’€™ mouth.

Keep the pedal to the metal on the power play: The Bruins have now scored power play goals in back-to-back games for just he second time this postseason. The other time occurred in Games 3 and 4 of the conference semifinals vs. the Flyers.

Treat it as a must-win: The Bruins can either tie the series or end up going to Vancouver down three games to one. It would be hard to imagine the B’€™s overcoming such a deficit, so the level of desperation has to be high on Wednesday night.

FOUR STATS

– The Canucks outshot the Bruins, 41-38, in Game 3. The B’€™s are now 10-4 in games in which they’€™ve been outshot. They had a 6-0 mark in such games through the first two rounds, and have gone 4-4 when being outshot the last two rounds.

- Tim Thomas [7] allowed five goals in the team’€™s Game 6 loss to the Lightning. Since then, he’€™s allowed five goals over four games.

– Former Boston College [8] and Bruins defenseman Andrew Alberts has had a negative rating in four of the five games he’€™s played this postseason. The 16:28 he played in Game 3 made for a postseason high. Part of that is a result of the team having five defensemen for all but five minutes of the game.

- Chris Kelly [9]‘€™s goal in Game 3 was his first since removing the full cage from his helmet. Kelly had four goals while wearing the cage, but had gone 11 straight games without a goal, nine of which were cageless. Now, the curse of the cageless Kelly can be laid to rest.

FOUR PLAYERS TO KEEP AN EYE ON

Tyler Seguin [10]: The rookie hasn’€™t registered a point since Game 2 of the Eastern Conference finals, and he hasn’€™t played particularly well since Game 3 of that series. Now his scoring ability is more of a need for the Bruins than a luxury with Horton out.

Roberto Luongo [11]: Vancouver coach Alain Vigneault didn’€™t want to pull Luongo, and Luongo didn’€™t want his coach to pull him on a night in which the floodgates opened wide. Now it’€™s a matter of how he bounces back. There’€™s no history to guide this one, as he had never allowed eight goals before, and the only time in which he allowed seven was Game 6 against the Blackhawks last year in the second round, a contest in which Vancouver was eliminated.

Henrik and Daniel Sedin: It has to have dawned on the Sedin twins that they haven’€™t been their dominant selves this series. Aside from a two-point performance in Game 2 from Daniel, the Sedin twins have been kept off the scoring sheet. Daniel has an even rating this series, while Henrik has only a minus-1 rating and a big hit from Thomas in Game 3 to show for himself.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/08/bruins-canucks-game-4-preview-4-keys-stats-and-players-to-watch/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[3] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[4] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[5] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[6] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[7] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[8] Boston College: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/boston-college-eagles.htm

[9] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[10] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[11] Roberto Luongo: http://media.weei.com/hockey/roberto-luongo.htm

[12] > Bruins-Canucks Game 4 preview: 4 keys, stats and players to watch" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/08/bruins-canucks-game-4-preview-4-keys-stats-and-players-to-watch/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.