- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins-Canucks Game 6 preview: 6 keys, stats and players

Posted By DJ Bean On June 13, 2011 @ 4:03 am In General | 5 Comments

The Bruins are playing in either their last game or second to last game Monday. Either way, it will be the finale at the Garden as the B’s look to fend off elimination and force a Game 7 of the Stanley Cup [1] finals, which would be played back in British Columbia. Here’s the preview of Monday’s contest.

SIX THINGS THE BRUINS NEED TO DO

Make it about quality, not quantity: Canucks goalie Roberto Luongo [2] has faced 30 or more shots in each of his shutouts in the finals, and both of those blankings have been cakewalks. The Bruins need to establish a physical presence, create traffic and get in front to beat the Vezina finalist.

Don’t let the Cup make an appearance: Everyone knows the Stanley Cup will be in the house Monday night, but the Bruins’ worst nightmare has to be watching Alexandre Burrows, Luongo and the rest of the perceived bad guys skate around with it on their ice.

- Remember their Game 6 experience: It’s as cliche as it gets to say that the last win is the hardest in a series, but the Bruins should know. Both the Canadiens and Lightning didn’t let the Bruins storm into their home and eliminate them, so the B’s will need the same desperation that beat them in those games.

Remind everyone of Games 3 and 4: The Bruins were able to make things very difficult for the Vancouver defense and Luongo in the two games here, but Vancouver tightened back up defensively back at Rogers Arena, while the B’s stiffened up offensively.

- Give Tyler Seguin [3] time on the power play: It’s the one place he won’t be afraid of getting hit and can focus just on using his talent. The B’s went 0-for-4 on the man advantage Friday in Vancouver, with Seguin getting only 12 seconds on the power play.

Use Zdeno Chara [4] in front on the power play: It may not have yielded results the last time around, but it’s worth using from time to time. If the Bruins can’t even get set up as it is, can it get much worse?

SIX STATS

– The Bruins have won nine of their last 10 home games dating back to Game 5 of the quarterfinals.

Dennis Seidenberg [5]‘s only goal this postseason came in Game 6 of the quarterfinals, and it was Boston’s only goal in the 2-1 Canadiens win.

– Though David Krejci [6] leads the NHL [7] with 22 postseason points, he’s only registered points in a loss twice. His hat trick in Game 6 of the conference finals made for three of the four points in games the Bruins have dropped this postseason.

– Despite missing two games due to a concussion, Patrice Bergeron [8] leads all Bruins with 62 shots on goal this postseason.

Henrik Sedin [9] has gone five straight games without a point for the first time since the 2007 postseason. He had two such stretches in 12 games in those playoffs. The last time he went six games without a point was from Nov. 29-Dec. 20, 2003.

Daniel Sedin has gone three straight games without a point three times this season, including once in the playoffs. He has not going four games without a point since Feb. 4-11 of the 2009-10 season.

SIX PLAYERS TO KEEP AN EYE ON

Milan Lucic [10]: After not showing up in Game 5, Lucic has to have the best game of his life Monday. If something is ailing him, then it’s commendable that he’s played through it, but the B’s need their best players to be the best players on the ice. Not having Nathan Horton [11] is bad enough, and the B’s not be able to survive with another zero-shot performance like Friday’s.

Brad Marchand [12]: The rookie needs to be the royal pain he’s been all season, and he also needs to come out flying the way he did when he dominated Game 4. It had seemed he was on a roll with goals in two straight games, but apparently Rogers Arena is where any positive Bruins trend goes to die. Marchand has three shots on goal over his last three games, though two have gone in.

Tim Thomas [13]: It’s hard to ask any more of Thomas, who it seems will be getting the Conn Smythe Trophy. He’s allowed six goals in the finals and could conceivably lose the series having allowed just seven goals in seven games.

Alexandre Burrows: The refs shouldn’t look at any plays involving this guy based on his diving. It seems the refs looked the other way with Burrows got cross-checked by the net.

Raffi Torres: The third-liner has three shots on goal this series, but one of them went in to seal Game 1 for the Canucks. He has two assists in the last three games.

Roberto Luongo: The mechanic himself did not have success the last time he was at the Garden, and he might need to show up big after letting up 12 goals in Games 3 and 4. If Luongo were to clinch the Cup for the Canucks with a shutout Monday, that would be quite remarkable given that it would be his third this postseason.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/13/bruins-canucks-game-6-preview-6-keys-stats-and-players/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Roberto Luongo: http://media.weei.com/hockey/roberto-luongo.htm

[3] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[4] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[5] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[6] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[7] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[8] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[9] Henrik Sedin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/henrik-sedin.htm

[10] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[11] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[12] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[13] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[14] > Bruins-Canucks Game 6 preview: 6 keys, stats and players" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/13/bruins-canucks-game-6-preview-6-keys-stats-and-players/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[15]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.