- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Michael Ryder: We will do ‘everything’ to win it for Nathan Horton

Posted By Mike Petraglia On June 14, 2011 @ 1:24 am In General | No Comments


brightcove.createExperiences();

The singular turning point of the series has also turned into a rally cry for the Bruins, as Michael Ryder [1] acknowledged after scoring a goal in Boston’s 5-2 win over Vancouver in Game 6 of the Stanley Cup [2] finals Monday night at TD Garden.

With the crowd already in a frenzy following two quick goals to start the game, the video board at the Garden showed Nathan Horton [3] in the zamboni area waving a Bruins black and gold hanky. Horton was shown live for the first time since being knocked to the ice with a severe concussion exactly one week ago on hit by Canucks defenseman Aaron Rome [4] in Game 3. He has been ruled out of the playoffs.

“Horty’s a big part of this team and he’s one of the reasons we’re where we are,” Ryder said. “He’s a great guy and it’s good to see him a lot better and we know he’s excited and he wants us to win. We have to make sure we do everything we can to pull it off for him.”

“We didn’€™t know that they were going to be doing that and showing him up there,” added Bruins forward Brad Marchand [5]. “You know for him to come in and give us that boost of energy is unbelievable. And obviously the crowd loves it and loves him and are supporting him every minute of the day. It was great to see him out there. He gave us a big energy boost.

Two and a half minutes later, Andrew Ference [6] fired a slap shot past Roberto Luongo [7] on the power play for Boston’s third goal and pandemonium ensued with the Bruins up, 3-0, and Luongo chased to the bench.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/14/michael-ryder-we-will-do-everything-to-win-it-for-nathan-horton/

URLs in this post:

[1] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[2] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[3] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[4] Aaron Rome: http://media.weei.com/hockey/aaron-rome.htm

[5] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[6] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[7] Roberto Luongo: http://media.weei.com/hockey/roberto-luongo.htm

[8] > Michael Ryder: We will do ‘everything’ to win it for Nathan Horton" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/14/michael-ryder-we-will-do-everything-to-win-it-for-nathan-horton/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.