- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Mark Recchi: ‘Nothing better’ than bringing Cup to Bruins fans

Posted By Mike Petraglia On June 18, 2011 @ 3:11 pm In General | No Comments


brightcove.createExperiences();

Before moving on to the next phase of his career, Mark Recchi [1] took a little time Saturday to savor his last Stanley Cup [2] championship as a player.

He won with the Mario Lemieux [3] Penguins [4] in 1991. He won with Rod Brind’Amour and the Hurricanes in 2006. And now he’s hoisted the Cup with the Bruins.

“They’re all special in different ways,” Recchi said before getting on a duck boat and going for the three-mile joyride of his career. “To go out on top is something very special and you never forget. Regardless of what would’ve happened in Game 7, this was going to be one of the best groups I ever played with anyway. To get that chance to win with them is incredible.

“They were different. Obviously, ’91 was a long time ago. It wasn’t a parade, we were down at a point down in Pittsburgh. We had a parade in Carolina, which was really good, but not like today. This is something really special.”

The outpouring affected each and every Bruins player, coach and executive on the duck boats Saturday. For the 43-year-old Recchi, it was an amazing feeling.

“It’s incredible,” he said. “It’s such a great sports town anyway. With the Red Sox [5], Celtics [6] and Patriots all winning in the last 10 years and for the Bruins to do it now – and it’s been a long time, 39 years – it’s great to be a championship city again. There’s nothing better.”

Recchi also said he felt overjoyed for Brad Marchand [7], Tyler Seguin [8] and Patrice Bergeron [9] and the younger players on this Bruins team, a team that could have its best years ahead of it.

“[2006] was the same thing,” Recchi said. “I was able to just watch the guys react, how react to things, how they feel under pressure. That’s the great thing about it. Now these guys start the playoffs, and hopefully, they get back into this position again and they’ll be able to enjoy it that much more.”

But all of the joy aside Saturday, he said he’s have absolutely no thoughts of extending his career one more season with the Bruins.

“No, that’s it,” Recchi said definitively, though he noted he would like to stay in the game in some sort of management role.

Has he officially contacted the Bruins about a front office gig?

“Oh no, I haven’t talked to anybody about that,” Mark Recchi. “We’ve been having too much fun.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/18/mark-recchi-nothing-better-than-bringing-cup-to-bruins-fans/

URLs in this post:

[1] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[2] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[3] Mario Lemieux: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mario-lemieux.htm

[4] Penguins: http://media.weei.com/hockey/pittsburgh-penguins.htm

[5] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[6] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[7] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[8] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[9] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[10] > Mark Recchi: ‘Nothing better’ than bringing Cup to Bruins fans" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/18/mark-recchi-nothing-better-than-bringing-cup-to-bruins-fans/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.