- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins year in review: Goal of the year

Posted By DJ Bean On June 20, 2011 @ 12:52 am In General | 1 Comment

Each day this week, WEEI.com will be taking a look back at the Bruins’ historic 2010-11 Stanley Cup [1] Championship season. We start it off by looking at the goal of the year.

GOAL OF THE YEAR

Dennis Seidenberg [2], Dec. 2 vs. Tampa Bay

“I know he tried to do it more than once this year. That time it just worked. With Smith in there, I know he likes to play the puck, so he kind of faked him out.”

- David Krejci [3]

Dennis Seidenberg might be best known for making up one half of the Bruins’ impenetrable top defensive pairing in the playoffs, but teaming with Zdeno Chara [4] was not the only way in which he left his mark on the Bruins’ championship season.

With the Bruins holding a 1-0 lead over the Lightning in the first period back in early December, Michael Ryder [5] gave the puck to Seidenberg in the neutral zone. With just over 20 seconds left in the period, Seidenberg gained the red line and lowered his shoulder as he released the puck, seemingly into the corner. Given that he was going through all the motions of a dump-in (even David Krejci appeared ready to chase the puck toward the corner), Lightning goalie Mike Smith left his net to retrieve it.

The only problem was that Seidenberg was pulling hockey’s version of the hidden-ball trick. Despite throwing his shoulder as though he was dumping it in, Seidenberg fired a wrist shot on net. The puck reached Smith’s net just as he was leaving it, producing just about the most entertaining play that could come from such a routine scenario. The goal was Seidenberg’s first of the season. The B’s would go on to win the game, 8-1, and Smith would be yanked early in the third period.

For Smith, it was a lapse that only a goalie keen on handling the puck could make, and it’s one of the moreĀ embarrassing snafus a netminder could encounter. Seidenberg simply took advantage of the situation, and the game eventually got out of hand.

Did this goal have the pizazz of Tyler Seguin [6]‘s first career goal in Prague or mean anywhere near what either of Nathan Horton [7]‘s Game 7 gems? Not even close. Yet Seidenberg’s goal in that December blowout of the Lightning flashed a great combination of hockey smarts, guts and good ol’ fashioned trickery.

HONORABLE MENTION: Tyler Seguin Oct. 10 vs. Phoenix, Nathan Horton Game 7 vs. Montreal, Tyler Seguin Game 1 vs. Tampa Bay


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/20/30394/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[3] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[4] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[5] Michael Ryder: http://media.weei.com/hockey/michael-ryder.htm

[6] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[7] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[8] > Bruins year in review: Goal of the year" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/20/30394/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.