- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins year in review: Unsung hero

Posted By DJ Bean On June 24, 2011 @ 3:45 am In General | No Comments

Each day this week, WEEI.com will be taking a look back at the Bruins’€™ historic 2010-11 Stanley Cup [1] Championship season. So far, we’ve looked at the goal of the year [2], fight of the year [3]save of the year [4] and top rookie [5]. Up today is the Bruins’ rookie of the year, a no-brainer for anyone who followed the championship season.

UNSUNG HERO

Andrew Ference [6]: 70 GP, 3 G, 12 A, 15 P, +22 (regular season)
25 GP, 4 G, 6 A, 10 P

‘€œHe’€™s been very, very consistent, if not the most consistent defenseman we’€™ve had all season. He’€™s been solid every time he’€™s been on the ice. He never gives up any soft goals. He’€™s been unbelievable for us, and a real workhorse.’€

- Dennis Seidenberg [7], May 19

There was no questioning who the Bruins’ most important player was during their Stanley Cup run, as Tim Thomas [8] was outstanding for the B’s. Next on the list of key performers would probably be either Zdeno Chara [9] or Dennis Seidenberg, as those two formed the shutdown pair that nobody could beat.

Yet while all of the praise rightfully went to the goaltender and the No. 1 pairing, Andrew Ference was continuing his solid season that saw him earn every dime of his $2.25 million cap hit.

Ference was never Chara-like, nor did he have to log the type of minutes Seidenberg did, but at the end of the day, what Ference brought was something the Bruins needed. It was hard to say with confidence going into the season who the Bruins’ No. 3 defenseman was, and just how good he’d be. Ference answered that by staying healthy (for the most part) and giving the Bruins a splendid No. 3 D man.

Were there low points with Ference? Absolutely. The game-winning play for the Canucks in overtime of Game 2 started with Ference, and him flipping off the Montreal crowd was an avoidable headache. At the end of the day, Ference was huge for the B’s, even if he didn’t get credit for it.

HONORABLE MENTION: Claude Julien [10], Shawn Thornton [11]


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/24/bruins-year-in-review-unsung-hero/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] goal of the year: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/20/30394/

[3] fight of the year: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/20/bruins-year-in-review-fight-of-the-year/

[4] save of the year: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/21/bruins-year-in-review-save-of-the-year/

[5] top rookie: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/22/bruins-year-in-review-top-rookie/

[6] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[7] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[8] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[9] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[10] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[11] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[12] > Bruins year in review: Unsung hero" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/06/24/bruins-year-in-review-unsung-hero/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.