- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Shawn Thornton says he doesn’t need an ‘A’

Posted By DJ Bean On August 8, 2011 @ 3:13 pm In General | No Comments

MIDDLETON — On Friday, we kicked around the discussion of which Bruin should receive the second “A” [1] now that alternate captain Mark Recchi [2] has retired. While the opinion here is that it should go to defenseman Andrew Ference [3], the Stanley Cup [4] champions are deep with candidates.

The two other most deserving candidates in this scribe’s opinion are forwards Shawn Thornton [5] and Milan Lucic [6]. We asked Thornton about the idea of potentially wearing an “A” for the first time in his career prior to Monday’s “Putts and Punches for Parkinson’s” golf tournament at the Ferncroft Country Club, and his response seemingly echoed everything his reputation would suggest: that he doesn’t need anything extra on his jersey to be one of the most respected guys in the Bruins’ dressing room.

“It’s tough to talk about because I don’t know what’s going on. I don’t get talked to about that stuff, so if it happened to be me, the recognition or even the consideration for that is an honor in itself. I haven’t had one in the NHL [7] ever, so it doesn’t stop you from doing your job.

“It’s tough to talk about,” he continued. “Would I like to have it? I guess everybody would, it’s an honor. Do I need it? No, probably not. Whatever the decision is, it will be for the best of the team. There’s a lot of leaders on the team. There’s a lot, a lot of leaders on the team and a lot of guys deserving of it.”

One thing that might prevent Thornton from getting the distinction is the fact that healthy scratches could keep him out of the lineup, as they did once Patrice Bergeron [8] returned in the Eastern Conference finals. Still, Thornton’s selflessness and leadership should definitely have him in the discussion.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/08/08/shawn-thornton-says-he-doesnt-need-an-a/

URLs in this post:

[1] which Bruin should receive the second “A”: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/dj-bean/2011/08/05/give-me-who-should-get-mark-recchis-letter

[2] Mark Recchi: http://media.weei.com/hockey/mark-recchi.htm

[3] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[4] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[5] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[6] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[7] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[8] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[9] > Shawn Thornton says he doesn’t need an ‘A’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/08/08/shawn-thornton-says-he-doesnt-need-an-a/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.