- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Claude Julien tossed as Bruins lose to Hurricanes

Posted By DJ Bean On October 18, 2011 @ 9:44 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins’ hardly hid their frustrations Tuesday night at TD Garden as they fell to the Hurricanes, 4-1, and saw their season record drop to 2-4-0. Among the 72 minutes worth of penalties assessed to the team on the night, the most notable might have come in the final minutes of the third period, when B’s coach Claude Julien [1] was tossed from the game.

The Hurricanes received goals from Anthony Stewart, Joni Pitkanen, Eric Staal and Tuomo Ruutu with Rich Peverley [2] scoring the Bruins’ lone goal. Stewart has now scored both of his goals this season again the Bruins.

Tuukka Rask [3] has now lost both games he’s started, with Cam Ward [4] receiving the win for the Hurricanes.

On a night that featured instances of Nathan Horton [5] taking whacks at Carolina players and the likes of Shawn Thornton [6] being turned down in his requests to dance (Thornton practically begged Tim Gleason but was turned down), the teams finally came to blows over halfway through the second period. Horton got tangled up with Jay Harrison before Zdeno Chara [7] came in and began pounding the Hurricanes defenseman.

Chara then had a nose-to-nose encounter with Ward, which caused Rask to skate the length of the ice to challenge the Hurricanes netminder. Ward declined, and Rask was assessed a minor penalty for crossing the red line.

Chara racked up 17 penalty minutes on the play, as he got an instigator and 10-minute misconduct in addition to his fighting major. Horton received a roughing minor, with Harrison, like Chara, getting a fighting major. After all the penalties, the Bruins were forced to kill off a 5-on-3.

Fisticuffs occurred again halfway through the third period, when Milan Lucic [8] tried to fight Gleason before Chris Kelly [9] eventually fought Brett Sutter, who had injured Joe Corvo earlier in the game. Minutes later, Horton threw Gleason to the ice after Gleason kept his gloves on and clearly was not interested in throwing. Horton was assessed a double-minor for roughing as well as a 10-minute game misconduct, ending his night.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

– Horton’s penalty was Lucic-esque for its combination of bad timing and poor judgement. With the Bruins trailing by a goal and 8:30 remaining, Horton put the B’s down a man (further penalties would make it worse) rather than in good shape to mount a comeback.

– It was not a good night for the Bruins’ fourth line. Shawn Thornton, Gregory Campbell [10] and Daniel Paille [11] were on the ice for both of the Hurricanes goals. The line had two shots on goal, both of which came from Paille.

One positive for the line came in the first period, when Thornton easily picked the pocket of Tomas Kaberle [12] on a turnover so soft that offer grounds for nostalgia about Kaberle’s similarly soft play with the Bruins last season.

Matt Bartkowski‘s time filling in for Adam McQuaid has not gone well. He was on the ice for Sutter’s tally, and after has now been a minus-2 over the last two games despite getting minimal ice time. He did not play at all in the second period, but saw some time in the third period. The Bruins would be fortunate to get McQuaid or Steven Kampfer back as quickly as possible.

– Julien made a statement in the third period by taking Lucic off the first line and promoting Benoit Pouliot. Lucic took Pouliot’s old spot on the third line. Lucic led the Bruins with 30 goals last season but has just one point (an assist) through six games.

Dennis Seidenberg [13] took a couple of bad penalties at the wrong time as well. Textbook cases of interference in the second period and a boarding call with 7:50 remaining, much like Horton’s actions, made things drastically worse on a night in which things were already bad.

– The Bruins lost Corvo 10 minutes into the first period when Hurricanes forward Sutter slammed the former Hurricanes blue liner into the boards in the corner of the Bruins’ zone. Corvo remained on the ice for several moments before getting up and skating off the ice under his own power. Peverley approached Sutter following the play, though Lucic was among those who watched.

Corvo returned and was on the bench at the start of the second period. It remains to be seen whether Brendan Shanahan will have anything to say about the play.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

– Peverley’s goal ended the Bruins’ power-play drought. They are now 2-for-24 on the man advantage this season.

Aside from Peverley’s goal helping the B’s erase an ugly statistic, there wasn’t much of anything that was remotely positive for the Bruins. It was just an ugly night in which the fights didn’t help them. Even Kaberle got an assist.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/10/18/claude-julien-tossed-as-bruins-lose-to-hurricanes/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[3] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[4] Cam Ward: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cam-ward.htm

[5] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[6] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[7] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[8] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[9] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[10] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[11] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[12] Tomas Kaberle: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tomas-kaberle.htm

[13] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[14] > Claude Julien tossed as Bruins lose to Hurricanes" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/10/18/claude-julien-tossed-as-bruins-lose-to-hurricanes/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[15]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.