- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins don’t hang their heads and get rewarded

Posted By Mike Petraglia On November 2, 2011 @ 10:35 am In General | No Comments

Default Player for embeding in WEEI.com columns and blogs


brightcove.createExperiences();

Tim Thomas [1] is usually the center of attention whenever he plays and the Bruins win a game.

But this has hardly been a usual season so far and Tuesday was hardly a typical game.

“Yeah, I was waiting around my locker when you guys came in but no one came over,” he told reporters with a good-natured smile after Boston’s 5-3 win over Ottawa. “But I wasn’t the story tonight.”

Thomas – as is usually the case – was right on the money. The story Tuesday was the rediscovered tenacity of a Bruins team that rode its determined style to a Stanley Cup [2] title four months earlier.

That tenacity was tested when the team fell behind 2-1 after one period to the Senators and blew a 3-2 lead early in the third period. That was hardly what the Bruins – losers of three straight and seven of 10 to start the season – needed for confidence.

But instead of hanging their heads, they found success in the form of two goals 37 seconds apart from Johnny Boychuk [3] and Daniel Paille [4].

“I think we were trying to maintain that 60-minute focus in our game,” head coach Claude Julien [5] said. “I thought maybe in the beginning of the third, after that power play, we seemed to get a little bit sloppy, and of course, they tied the game up. But I think everybody was on the same page tonight as far as, don’€™t hang your heads, let’€™s go out there, let’€™s get the next goal, and let’€™s find a way to win this game. Determination was a lot better tonight and positive, I guess, thoughts, more than hanging our head and saying, ‘€˜Here we go again.’€™”

“I thought we had the momentum all night and it was one of those games where we felt confident we could do it and come back,” added Patrice Bergeron [6]. “And playing like that, that’€™s how we come back in games and show character and stay consistent and keep going at them. And I thought tonight was the perfect example that when we put the puck in deep and work at it, we’€™re a tough team to beat.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/11/02/32079/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[2] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[3] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[4] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[5] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] > Bruins don’t hang their heads and get rewarded" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/11/02/32079/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.