- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins give David Krejci three-year extension

Posted By DJ Bean On December 1, 2011 @ 10:01 am In General | No Comments

The Bruins announced Thursday morning that they have signed center David Krejci [1] to a three-year extension. According to TSN, Krejci, who would have been a restricted free agent at season’s end, will get $5.25 million a year with his new deal. The 25-year-old is in the final year of a deal that pays him $3.75 million a year.

The new deal also includes a limited no-trade clause, according to TSN [2]. Krejci could block a trade to six teams.

Krejci’s signing takes care of what would have been the team’s biggest financial question mark at season’s end. The B’s also re-signed Rich Peverley [3] in October to prevent him from reaching free agency, and with Krejci now signed, Tuukka Rask [4] (restricted) and Chris Kelly [5] (unrestricted) may be bumped up to the top of general manager Peter Chiarelli‘s to-do list. Gregory Campbell [6], Shawn Thornton [7], Daniel Paille [8], Joe Corvo and Johnny Boychuk [9] are also set to become unrestricted free agents.

The new contract will also make Krejci the highest-paid forward on the Bruins, and the second-highest paid Bruin. Captain Zdeno Chara [10]‘s deal has an annual cap hit of $6.916 cap hit.

The signing comes the morning after Krejci led the way in Boston’s 6-3 win over Toronto Wednesday. The first-line center had three points (1 G, 2 A) in the victory.┬áThe Bruins drafted Krejci in the second round of the 2004 draft. In his NHL [11] career, he has 62 goals and 165 assists for 227 points. He led the postseason in scoring during last spring’s Stanley Cup [12] run.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/12/01/bruins-give-david-krejci-three-year-extension/

URLs in this post:

[1] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[2] according to TSN: http://twitter.com/#!/DarrenDreger

[3] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[4] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[5] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[6] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[7] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[8] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[9] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[10] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[11] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[12] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[13] > Bruins give David Krejci three-year extension" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2011/12/01/bruins-give-david-krejci-three-year-extension/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.