- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Not surprised to see Roberto Luongo sitting vs. Bruins

Posted By DJ Bean On January 6, 2012 @ 3:07 pm In General | 7 Comments

Surprise, surprise.

Canucks goaltender and Marblehead native Cory Schneider [1] told reporters Friday that he, not Roberto Luongo [2], will be the team’s starting goalie when Vancouver faces the Bruins Saturday in a rematch of the teams in last season Stanley Cup [3] finals.

Luongo is coming off a shutout Wednesday against the Wild, but he had a very difficult time playing in Boston in the postseason. In three starts in Boston in the finals, he allowed 15 goals and was chased from both Games 4 and 6. He allowed five goals in the other four games at Rogers Arena.

This season, Luongo is 17-8-3 with a 2.38 goals-against average and a .917 save percentage. Schneider, who played his college hockey at Boston College [4], is 8-5-0 with a 2.16 GAA and a .931 save percentage.

It ultimately isn’t surprising for Luongo to sit Saturday vs. the B’s. He got off to a rocky start this season, but has turned things around. If anything could shake him right now, it’s the idea of playing in Boston again.

Things went downhill for Luongo following the Canucks’ 1-0 win in Game 5 of the finals. Following the win, Luongo criticized Tim Thomas [5]‘ style of play, saying the game-winning goal he allowed to Maxim Lapierre [6] would have been an easy save for him. Luongo was chased jsut 8:35 into the next game after allowing three early goals and went on to allow three goals in the Bruins’ 4-0 Cup-clinching Game 7.

Thomas told WEEI.com recently that Luongo’s remarks gave him confidence, as he realized that Luongo was distracted.

‘€œAs far as Luongo goes, actually, all that did was give me confidence that his head was in the wrong place, because I was focused on stopping the puck and he was thinking about my style,’€ Thomas said on Dec. 21 as he reflected on the now infamous comment.

‘€œI realized that I had an advantage over him,’€ Thomas added. ‘€œ’€¦ The challenge on my end was to keep that advantage.’€

The Bruins starter is currently unknown, though Tuukka Rask [7] has allowed just one goal over his last four starts and is coming off his third shutout this season. Just this writer’s opinion, but it might be wise for Julien to continue to ride the hot hand and stick with Rask for Saturday’s game. That way the B’s can go back to Thomas, who beat Winnipeg in November, when the Jets come to town Tuesday. Rask was in net for the Bruins’ Dec. 6 loss to the Jets.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/01/06/not-surprised-to-see-roberto-luongo-sitting-vs-bruins/

URLs in this post:

[1] Cory Schneider: http://media.weei.com/hockey/cory-schneider.htm

[2] Roberto Luongo: http://media.weei.com/hockey/roberto-luongo.htm

[3] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[4] Boston College: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/boston-college-eagles.htm

[5] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[6] Maxim Lapierre: http://media.weei.com/hockey/maxim-lapierre.htm

[7] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[8] > Not surprised to see Roberto Luongo sitting vs. Bruins" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/01/06/not-surprised-to-see-roberto-luongo-sitting-vs-bruins/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.