- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Rangers beat Bruins late in overtime

Posted By DJ Bean On January 21, 2012 @ 3:43 pm In General | No Comments

Two brilliant saves weren’t enough for Tuukka Rask [1], as Marian Gaborik buried a third-chance bid with 3.6 seconds remaining in overtime to give the Rangers a 3-2 win over the Bruins Saturday at TD Garden.

The goal was Gaborik’s second of the day, and it came with the Rangers on the power play thanks to a bad charging penalty from Andrew Ference [2].

Ryan Callahan [3] beat Rask with a wrist shot 1:31 into the second period, but a fight between Shawn Thornton [4] and Mike Rupp seemed to wake up the B’s. Ference scored his fourth goal of the season to tie the game at 3:28, and the game stayed tied until Gaborik slapped an unsettled puck past Rask at 14:30. Adam McQuaid tied the game with 29 seconds left in the period, notching his second goal of the season.

Rask made 26 saves on 28 shots from the Rangers in regulation. Henrik Lundqvist [5] picked up the win for New York.

The Bruins will return to action Sunday when they travel to Philadelphia to face the Flyers.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

– Ference played a very good game in regulation, but he took a bad charging major and game misconduct with 3:10 remaining in overtime when he rammed Ryan McDonagh into the boards. That play gave the Rangers a man advantage until Gaborik won it.

– It wouldn’t be a game against the Rangers if a ton of shots weren’t blocked. New York blocked 22 of Boston’s shots, including a whopping seven from McDonagh.

– The B’s had three power plays in the first period, but only managed one shot on goal on the man advantage. The Rangers entered the day ranking third in penalty kill percentage, and their PK unit did a good job of preventing the Bruins from getting momentum in the first 20 minutes.

– The Bruins are getting into a bad habit of allowing goals in the “vulnerable minute” that follows a power play. Callahan jumped out of the box and scored the Rangers’ first goal following his penalty for tripping Chris Kelly [6]. The B’s allowed a goal in a similar situation Monday against the Panthers.

Zdeno Chara [7] went face-first into the boards when Brandon Prust shoved him into the boards 2:22 into the third period. Luckily for the B’s, Chara was alright and stayed on the ice for the power play as Prust went off for boarding, but it was a scary moment nonetheless.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

– Ference followed Thursday’s game-tying goal with another big goal Saturday and has now scored goals in consecutive games for the second time this season. Ference scored on Nov. 19 against the Islanders and scored the Bruins’ lone goal on Nov. 20 in Montreal to give the team a 1-0 win over the Habs. Ference also had an assist on McQuaid’s goal.

Saturday’s goal was the fourth of the season for Ference, tying a career-high. The 32-year-old defenseman has had four campaigns in which he’s scored four goals, but he hasn’t done it since the 2005-06 season with the Flames. Four goals is the most Ference has scored as a member of the Bruins.

– Thornton’s fight with Rupp seemed to inject some life into the Bruins at a time when they needed it. The Rangers had taken a 1-0 lead just over a minute earlier, and Thornton held his own against the 6-foot-5, 230-pound Rupp. The B’s got on the board less than a minute later with Ference’s tally.

– The Bruins stayed disciplined against the Rangers through the first two periods. While Rich Peverley [8] and Benoit Pouliot may have gotten away with a couple of questionable plays in the first two periods, the B’s never found themselves on the penalty kill. The one minor penalty that was called on the Bruins, a Joe Corvo trip, was negated by a Prust dive.

Unfortunately for the Bruins, the Rangers’ first two power plays came with less than 10 mites remaining in a tie game. David Krejci [9] went off for tripping Brian Boyle at 10:46, and Kelly tripped Callahan at 15:29 . The Bruins were able to kill off both, and even got a great scoring chance when Peverley and Brad Marchand [10] had a shorthanded 2-on-1 with Krejci in the box.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/01/21/rangers-beat-bruins-late-in-overtime/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[2] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[3] Ryan Callahan: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ryan-callahan.htm

[4] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[5] Henrik Lundqvist: http://media.weei.com/hockey/henrik-lundqvist.htm

[6] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[7] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[8] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[9] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[10] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[11] > Rangers beat Bruins late in overtime" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/01/21/rangers-beat-bruins-late-in-overtime/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.