- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

UPDATE: Tuukka Rask injured, won’t travel with Bruins

Posted By DJ Bean On March 3, 2012 @ 4:28 pm In General | 6 Comments

The Bruins are already without Nathan Horton [1] and Rich Peverley [2] for theĀ foreseeableĀ future, so things went from bad to potentially much worse when goaltender Tuukka Rask [3] left Saturday’s game against the Islanders with an apparent lower-body injury suffered in the second period.

After the game, coach Claude Julien [4] said that neither Rask nor defenseman Andrew Ference [5] will make the team’s trip to New York and Toronto.

After the game, the Bruins recalled Providence goaltender Michael Hutchinson and forward Lane MacDermid. Julien did not offer an update on Daniel Paille [6], who left the game after getting tripped by Steve Staios, but the MacDermid callup is seemingly to fill Paille’s spot should the fourth-liner be unable to go.

Rask hurt himself stretching out to make a save on Islanders forward Matt Martin. He went down after the play, at which point defenseman Joe Corvo got the attention of the officials and the play was blown dead. Rask remained down on the ice while examined by trainer Don DelNegro before eventually being helped off the ice by Corvo and Greg Zanon. He did not put any pressure on his left leg as he was being helped off.

Tim Thomas [7] came into the game following the play. Rask had allowed one goal on 12 shots from the Islanders. For the season, Rask has an 11-8-3 record leads the Bruins with a 2.05 goals-against average, which is fifth in the NHL [8]. His .929 save percentage is tied with Thomas for fifth in the league.

Providence starting goaltender Anton Khudobin is currently out with a wrist injury, Hutchinson, who missed Friday night’s game with the flu, was the next best option. Hutchinson is 6-11-0 this season with a 2.62 GAA and .920 save percentage.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/03/03/tuukka-rask-leaves-with-injury/

URLs in this post:

[1] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[2] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[3] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[4] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[5] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[6] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[7] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[8] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[9] > UPDATE: Tuukka Rask injured, won’t travel with Bruins" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/03/03/tuukka-rask-leaves-with-injury/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.