- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins finally win two in a row, defeat Sabres

Posted By DJ Bean On March 8, 2012 @ 9:29 pm In General | 2 Comments

It took the Bruins long enough, but they finally won their second game in a row thanks to Thursday’s 3-1 win over the Sabres. The victory marked the first time in 26 games that the B’s have won back-to-back contests.

Jason Pominville gave the Sabres the lead in the first period when he beat Tim Thomas [1] with a rocket over the veteran netminder’s glove. Gregory Campbell [2] tied the game in the second, redirecting a Shawn Thornton [3] slap shot past Buffalo starter Jhonas Enroth. Johnny Boychuk [4] gave the B’s the lead in the third period with his fourth goal of the season, with David Krejci [5] providing insurance at 15:52.

Thomas made 19 saves on 20 shots faced. The game was the seventh consecutive contest in which Thomas has played.

The Bruins will host the Capitals Saturday as they go for their — get this — third straight win.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

Claude Julien [6] called for more secondary scoring after Saturday’s loss to the Islanders, and for the third straight game since, he got it. After Jordan Caron dominated Sunday and Tuesday as a third-liner (three goals, two assists over the two games), it was the fourth line that chipped in with the equalizer in the second period. A Buffalo turnover left the puck waiting for Thornton to fire on not, and Campbell got a piece of it to tie the game. The goal was Campbell’s seventh of the season.

— Speaking of Caron, Julien switched Caron and Brian Rolston [7], putting Caron with Brad Marchand [8] and Patrice Bergeron [9] on the second line and Rolston with Chris Kelly [10] and Benoit Pouliot. Rolston hasn’t made enough of a statement to earn top-six minutes since coming over in a trade from the Islanders last week, and it’s good for Julien to reward Caron for his improved play of late.

In picking up the assist on Boychuk’s goal, Caron extended his point streak to three games. The 21-year-old has three goals and three assists over his last three contests.

— The B’s new top line of David Krejci [5], Milan Lucic [11] and Tyler Seguin [12] has produced at least one goal in all five games since Julien put the trio together. Krejci has five goals over the last five games, while Seguin has four and Lucic has one. Some quick arithmetic shows that the members of the line have totaled 10 goals over their last five contests.

— The Bruins outscored their opponent in the second period for the third consecutive game. As has been well-documented, the Bruins have not been a good second-period team over the difficult stretch they’ve found themselves in since mid-January, but they have outscored their opponents 6-2 in the second over the last three games.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

Greg Zanon was made a healthy scratch for the first time since debuting with the B’s last week. Julien spoke highly of Zanon Thursday morning, calling him “sturdy” for the Bruins in his first four games with the Bruins, but the truth is that Zanon’s had a rough go of it since his debut. Zanon impressed in his first game with the B’s last Thursday, handling everything that was thrown his way and adapting to new partners as the team twice went to a five-man rotation. Since then, he’s had a rough time for the Bruins, having multiple flubs in front of Tim Thomas [1]‘ net, knocking a puck in and posting a minus-4 rating over his last three games. He was one of just two Bruins (Thornton being the other) to have a minus rating (minus-1) in Tuesday’s 5-4 win over the Maple Leafs.

Mike Mottau played in Zanon’s place, skating on pairing with Adam McQuaid.

— Bergeron and Marchand have both gone the last six games without a goal. The second line is one that’s effective for its prowess in all three zones, but the B’s need two of their better forwards in Bergeron and Marchand to get going.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/03/08/bruins-finally-win-two-in-a-row-defeat-sabres/

URLs in this post:

[1] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[2] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[3] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[4] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[5] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[6] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[7] Brian Rolston: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brian-rolston.htm

[8] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[9] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[10] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[11] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[12] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[13] > Bruins finally win two in a row, defeat Sabres" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/03/08/bruins-finally-win-two-in-a-row-defeat-sabres/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.