- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Rich Peverley returns as Bruins beat Ducks

Posted By DJ Bean On March 25, 2012 @ 10:38 pm In General | No Comments

The Bruins finished their three-game West Coast road trip with a 3-2 victory over the Ducks Sunday, giving them four wins in their last five games.

The B’s jumped out to a 2-0 lead thanks to second-period goals from Zdeno Chara [1] and Benoit Pouliot. Teemu Selanne‘s 24th goal of the season made it a one-goal game entering the third period.

The Ducks appeared to tie the game in the third period on a goal from Matt Belesky, but Andrew Cogliano was in the crease, causing the goal to be disallowed. The B’s increased their lead to 3-1 thanks to Brian Rolston [2]‘s seventh goal of the season. Lubomir Visnovsky made it 3-2 with an unassisted goal with 2:29 remaining in regulation.

Marty Turco [3] got the start in goal for the Bruins and played the whole game, ending a streak of 15 straight appearances by Tim Thomas [4]. The veteran netminder made 24 saves on 26 shots in the start, his second as a member of the Bruins.

Rich Peverley [5] made his return to the B’s lineup, skating with Patrice Bergeron [6] and Brad Marchand [7]. Daniel Paille [8] was scratched to make room for Peverley.

The Bruins will return to the Garden to face the Lightning on Tuesday. Tampa beat the B’s, 6-1, in their last meeting on March 13.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/03/25/rich-peverley-returns-as-bruins-beat-ducks/

URLs in this post:

[1] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[2] Brian Rolston: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brian-rolston.htm

[3] Marty Turco: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marty-turco.htm

[4] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[5] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[6] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[7] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[8] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[9] > Rich Peverley returns as Bruins beat Ducks" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/03/25/rich-peverley-returns-as-bruins-beat-ducks/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.