- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Bruins’ depth makes them first team this season with six 20-goal scorers

Posted By DJ Bean On March 31, 2012 @ 4:34 pm In General | No Comments

There are 23 players in the NHL [1] with 30 or more goals this season. None of them play for the Bruins.

With four games remaining in the season, it doesn’€™t look like the B’€™s will finish the season with a 30-goal scorer, a rather common occurrence. In Claude Julien [2]‘€™s five seasons with the B’€™s, the team has had just two 30-goal scorers: Phil Kessel [3] in 2008-09 and Milan Lucic [4] last season. This season, both Brad Marchand [5] and Tyler Seguin [6] are three goals short, making the feat possible, but not likely.

For as much as the 30-goal mark says about an individual player, it doesn’€™t paint an accurate picture of an offense as a whole. As of Saturday afternoon, the Islanders ranked 27th in the NHL [7] in goals per game, though they boast two 30-goal-scorers in Matt Moulson and John Tavares.

While the Bruins might not have any members of the 30-goal club, they’€™ve been able to ice the league’€™s second-best offense using their favorite thing in the world: depth.

The B’€™s became the first team in the league this season with six 20-goal scorers ‘€“ Seguin (27), Marchand (27), Lucic (24), David Krejci [8] (23), Patrice Bergeron [9] (21) and Chris Kelly [10] (20) ‘€“ with Saturday’€™s win over the Islanders. The Bruins’€™ top three lines all pack an offensive punch, so much so that there have multiple points this season in which it’€™s been Kelly’€™s line that has delivered the team wins.

Benoit Pouliot (14 goals) is the next healthy guy down on the list, and chances are you won’€™t see six more goals out of him over the last four games of the season. However, that doesn’€™t mean that the B’€™s have only six guys capable of burying 20. Nathan Horton [11] had 17 goals through 46 games before going down with his latest concussion. Though Rich Peverley [12] was not on pace for 20 goals when he suffered his knee sprain (he now has 10 goals through 53 games), he scored 22 a couple years ago for Atlanta, and his speed is enough to make opposing goaltenders keep an eye on him.

Six members of the 20-goal club is no small feat. Not only have no other teams done it this season, but the Bruins haven’€™t had six 20-goal-scorers in the same season since 1995-96. The B’€™s take pride in their offensive depth, and though individual numbers won’€™t jump off the page in this offense compared to other ones (see: Ryder, Michael — the man is ninth in the NHL [1] with 35 goals after scoring 18 in each of the last two seasons with Boston), but when it comes to production, the B’€™s will always take quantity ‘€“ as in more scorers, which in turn means more goals ‘€“ over quality.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/03/31/bruins-depth-makes-them-first-team-this-season-with-six-20-goal-scorers/

URLs in this post:

[1] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[2] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[3] Phil Kessel: http://media.weei.com/hockey/phil-kessel.htm

[4] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[5] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[6] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[7] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[8] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[9] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[10] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[11] Nathan Horton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nathan-horton.htm

[12] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[13] > Bruins’ depth makes them first team this season with six 20-goal scorers" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/03/31/bruins-depth-makes-them-first-team-this-season-with-six-20-goal-scorers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.