- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

David Krejci helps Bruins past Islanders

Posted By DJ Bean On March 31, 2012 @ 3:26 pm In General | 1 Comment

Four goals in the third period were enough give the Bruins two points Saturday, as they picked up a 6-3 win over the Islanders at Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum. With the victory, the Bruins now have points in five straight games (4-0-1).

David Krejci [1] had a pair of goals for the B’s, with Boston also getting goals from Chris Kelly [2], Brad Marchand [3], Tyler Seguin [4] and Patrice Bergeron [5]. The Islanders got two goals from P.A. Parenteau, as a well as a Kyle Okposo tally.

Marty Turco [6] made the start for the Bruins, making 19 saves on 22 shots and picking up his second win as a member of the B’s.

The Bruins will stay in the state of New York and face the first-place Rangers Sunday.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

- The B’s became the first team in the NHL [7] to have six 20-goal scorers. Seguin (27), Brad Marchand [3] (27), Milan Lucic [8] (24), Krejci (23), Bergeron  (21) and Kelly (20) make up that list, and it’s proof that though the B’s offense cooled off in the middle of the season, they have as deep a scoring attack as any team in the league.

- Speaking of 20 goals, Kelly became a 20-goal scorer for the first time in his career with his first-period goal. The tally also gave him his 38th point of the season, tying his career-best recorded back in 2006-07 as a member of the Senators.

- Krejci’s 23rd goal of the season helped him surpass his career-best total from 2008-09, and he still has four more games to add to it.

- Claude Julien [9] flipped Seguin and Rich Peverley [10], and it worked for both lines. Marchand, Seguin and Bergeron all scored for their line, while the first of Krejci’s two goals came on a shift with Peverley and Lucic.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

- Turco got a little too aggressive and took a minor penalty for tripping Okposo in the second period. The Islanders did not score on that power play, and finished the day 0-for-2 on the man advantage.

- Speaking of power plays, Saturday’s game marked the fourth contest in the last six that the Bruins had only one power play. The Bruins have not scored a power play goal over their last six games, with their most recent power play tally coming on March 19 against the Maple Leafs (if that game counts).

- The Islanders actually got some momentum out of the Bruins’ lone power play. Shortley after Mark Streit’s delay of game penalty was killed off, Parenteau scoring his second goal of the game to bring the Islanders within one.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/03/31/david-krejci-helps-bruins-past-islanders/

URLs in this post:

[1] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[2] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[3] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[4] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[5] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[6] Marty Turco: http://media.weei.com/hockey/marty-turco.htm

[7] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[8] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[9] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[10] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[11] > David Krejci helps Bruins past Islanders" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/03/31/david-krejci-helps-bruins-past-islanders/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.