- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Anton Khudobin shines vs. Senators

Posted By DJ Bean On April 5, 2012 @ 10:05 pm In General | 1 Comment

The Bruins didn’t have all their stars on the ice, but they still beat the team they are likely to face when the playoffs begin next Thursday. Led by goaltender Anton Khudobin, the B’s defeated the Senators, 3-1, in Ottawa on Thursday night.

Khudobin made 44 saves, allowing only a Jason Spezza goal in the second period. The Bruins jumped out to a two-goal lead on tallies from Benoit Pouliot and Greg Zanon before Spezza made it a one-goal game in the second period. Milan Lucic [1] gave the B’s some insurance by scoring his 26th goal of the season in the third period.

Ben Bishop took the loss for Ottawa, allowing three goals on 27 shots.

The Bruins were playing without Tim Thomas [2], Zdeno Chara [3], Patrice Bergeron [4] and Johnny Boychuk [5], all of whom did not make the trip to Ottawa. The B’s will wrap up the regular season Saturday against the Sabres.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

– The chances that he could play in the postseason are slim, but it was a very encouraging sign for the Bruins to see Khudobin turn in a plus showing. Tuukka Rask [6] has been skating since Monday, but if he isn’t ready for the playoffs, Khudobin will have to be Thomas’ backup. Khudobin last played in the NHL [7] two seasons ago, and in his career he now has played seven games at the NHL [8] level.

– Though he wasn’t directly responsible for them, Erik Karlsson was on the ice for all three of the Bruins’ goals. Karlsson leads all NHL [7] defensemen with 78 points this season, but he might have a hard time beating Shea Weber [9] or Chara for the Norris this year. Karlsson is a great player, but is he a great defenseman?

– Zanon’s goal was his first tally since joining the Bruins in a Feb. 27 trade. It was also his second point as a member of the B’s. Zanon put a shot on net from the point in hopes that it could get redirected past Bishop, but he put enough on it to beat the Senators’ goalie unencumbered.

Zanon was also credited with a game-high nine blocked shots, all of which came in the first two periods.

Torey Krug picked up his first career NHL [8] point by getting the secondary helper on Lucic’s goal. Krug, who the team signed last month out of Michigan State [10], was playing in his second career game.

– The Bruins improved to 38-0-0 in games in which they held a two-goal lead at any point.

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

Adam McQuaid left the game in the second period and did not return. The Bruins issued no update on McQuaid during the game aside from saying that the defenseman was “doubtful” to return. He did not.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/05/anton-khudobin-shines-vs-senators/

URLs in this post:

[1] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[2] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[3] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[4] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[5] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[6] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[7] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[8] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl-hockey.htm

[9] Shea Weber: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shea-weber.htm

[10] Michigan State: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/michigan-state-spartans.htm

[11] > Anton Khudobin shines vs. Senators" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/05/anton-khudobin-shines-vs-senators/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.