- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Chris Kelly thinks 82 ain’t nothing but a number

Posted By DJ Bean On April 5, 2012 @ 2:32 pm In General | No Comments

Claude Julien [1] and the Bruins have shown that when the end of the regular season rolls around, they are far more concerned about getting ready for the playoffs than wrapping up personal accomplishments. They don’t care about the number of games played, as long as they play a lot of them in the postseason.

Take Dennis Seidenberg [2] last year, for example. The defenseman had often missed time in previous seasons due to injury, but was finally on pace for an 82-game season in 2010-11. It didn’t end up happening, as the Bruins gave him the 81st game off to get him some rest.

After the team left Patrice Bergeron [3], who is one of two Bruins to play the first 80 games of the season, back with Tim Thomas [4] and Zdeno Chara [5] for Thursday’s game against the Senators, Chris Kelly [6] will be the only Bruin left to play in each game this season. The team could give him Saturday off, or they could play him and give him his fourth career 82-game season. Never one to worry about his accomplishments, Kelly says he’ll let the team make the choice for him.

“Whatever they decide, whatever’s best,” Kelly said. “I’m easy either way. Eighty, or 82 or 81, it doesn’t really matter, to be honest. Whatever they feel is best for the team.”

Kelly’s other 82-game seasons came with the Senators, with the most recent one coming in 2008-09. His only game missed last season was the result of a visa issue following his trade to Boston.

“It’s your job to play,” he said. “Sometimes certain circumstances don’t let you play all 82. Injuries, the flu, personal issues, visas don’t allow you too. I think at the end of the day, it’s your job to play unless you’re told different.”

While Kelly may or may not play 82 games, there’s no disputing that this had been a career-year for the 31-year-old. He’s scored 20 goals for the first time in his career, and his 39 points are also a personal best. Fan voting allowed Tyler Seguin [7] to win the Seventh Player award this week, but even Seguin hinted that Kelly may have been robbed.

Not surprisingly, Kelly responded to that by singing Seguin’s praises and pointing to others for his success.

“Obviously it’€™s nice to score goals and contribute offensively. I’€™ve been really lucky to play with some great linemates in my time here — last year and this year,” he said. “Ziggy’€™s a really deserving player of that award. Obviously he’€™s leading our team in goals, points, he’€™s up there in plus-minus. That’€™s a rare thing to see, a young player [with a good] plus-minus. So it’€™s a great choice, and I think it’€™s that much more special when the fans decide on it.’€


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/05/chris-kelly-thinks-82-aint-nothing-but-a-number/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[3] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[4] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[5] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[6] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[7] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[8] > Chris Kelly thinks 82 ain’t nothing but a number" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/05/chris-kelly-thinks-82-aint-nothing-but-a-number/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.