- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Looking to avoid another postseason power outage, Bruins work on man advantage

Posted By DJ Bean On April 10, 2012 @ 5:23 pm In General | No Comments


brightcove.createExperiences();

WILMINGTON — What is the key to Claude Julien [1]‘s power play finding success this postseason?

“Not waiting till the finals, that would be one key,” Julien said Tuesday.

Julien was, of course, referring to last season’s power-play struggles. The 2010-11 Bruins were many things, including the team that got to the Stanley Cup [2] finals without a functioning power play.

They didn’t score a single power-play goal in the first round (0-for-21 over seven games), and the B’s went 5-for-61 on the man advantage in the playoffs before waking up with a 5-for-27 showing against the Canucks.

This season, the Bruins finished the regular 15th in the league on the man advantage, converting 17.1 percent of the time. However, the man advantage crawled to the finish line, going converting on just two of 21 power plays in the last 10 regular-season games.

On Tuesday, the Bruins worked on their power play, with the first unit consisting of Zdeno Chara [3], Joe Corvo, David Krejci [4], Milan Lucic [5] and Brian Rolston [6], while the second unit featured Dennis Seidenberg [7], Rich Peverley [8], Patrice Bergeron [9], Brad Marchand [10] and Tyler Seguin [11].

“This is a little bit of I guess touchy subject for everybody for quite a while now,” Julien said. “I think we finished 15th so we finished in the middle of the pack this year, but again, when you look at our team and you say well we’€™ve got one guy with 29, 27 goals our scoring is spread we don’€™t have those [Steven] Stamkoses. We don’€™t have those kind of guys.”

Regardless of where the Bruins’ man advantage finished in the regular season, the B’s know that it’s all about the playoffs now. Just as the Canucks, who finished the 2010-11 regular season with the best power play in the league (24.3 percent) but went 2-for-33 in the Stanley Cup [2] finals against the Bruins.

“Back in the finals, we played a team that had the number one power play but then they ran into a gritty group of penalty killers and at the end of the day we were able to win that match up,” Julien said. “It goes hand and hand, and we keep working on it everyday because we know that’€™s an area becomes a challenge for us.”

The Bruins could exceed last season’s first-round power-play performance with a tally on the man advantage Thursday.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/10/looking-to-avoid-another-postseason-power-outage-bruins-work-on-man-advantage/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[3] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[4] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[5] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[6] Brian Rolston: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brian-rolston.htm

[7] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[8] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[9] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[10] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[11] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[12] > Looking to avoid another postseason power outage, Bruins work on man advantage" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/10/looking-to-avoid-another-postseason-power-outage-bruins-work-on-man-advantage/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.