- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Claude Julien hopeful Johnny Boychuk (knee) will play in Game 1

Posted By DJ Bean On April 12, 2012 @ 1:17 pm In General | No Comments

Bruins coach Claude Julien [1] would only say he “hopes” defenseman Johnny Boychuk [2] will be in the lineup Thursday night in Game 1 of the Eastern Conference quarterfinals against the Capitals.

Based on this week, it would appear that Boychuk should be ready to return after missing the last two games of the regular season with a sprained knee. He participated in Thursday’s morning skate, marking the fourth straight day he’s been on the ice with the team. In practices and line drills, Boychuk has played on the second pairing with Andrew Ference [3].

Julien would not reveal the healthy scratch among forwards, but it should be either Jordan Caron or Daniel Paille [4], as the two have shared the left wing on the fourth line this week in practice.

Adam McQuaid (upper-body) and Tuukka Rask [5] (abdomen/groin) will not dress. Anton Khudobin will serve as the team’s backup to Tim Thomas [6].

Here are the Bruins’ lines:

Milan Lucic [7] ‘€“ David Krejci [8] ‘€“ Rich Peverley [9]
Brad Marchand [10] ‘€“ Patrice Bergeron [11] ‘€“ Tyler Seguin [12]
Benoit Pouliot ‘€“ Chris Kelly [13] ‘€“ Brian Rolston [14]
Daniel Paille [4]/Jordan Caron ‘€“ Gregory Campbell [15] ‘€“ Shawn Thornton [16]

Zdeno Chara [17] ‘€“ Dennis Seidenberg [18]
Andrew Ference [3] ‘€“ Johnny Boychuk [2]
Greg Zanon ‘€“ Joe Corvo

Tim Thomas [6]
Anton Khudobin


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/12/claude-julien-hopeful-johnny-boychuk-knee-will-play-in-game-1/

URLs in this post:

[1] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[2] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[3] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[4] Daniel Paille: http://media.weei.com/hockey/daniel-paille.htm

[5] Tuukka Rask: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tuukka-rask.htm

[6] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[7] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[8] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[9] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[10] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[11] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[12] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[13] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[14] Brian Rolston: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brian-rolston.htm

[15] Gregory Campbell: http://media.weei.com/hockey/gregory-campbell.htm

[16] Shawn Thornton: http://media.weei.com/hockey/shawn-thornton.htm

[17] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[18] Dennis Seidenberg: http://media.weei.com/hockey/dennis-seidenberg.htm

[19] > Claude Julien hopeful Johnny Boychuk (knee) will play in Game 1" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/12/claude-julien-hopeful-johnny-boychuk-knee-will-play-in-game-1/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[20]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.