- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Capitals tie series with Game 4 win

Posted By DJ Bean On April 19, 2012 @ 10:12 pm In General | 4 Comments

WASHINGTON — The Capitals tied the Eastern Conference quarterfinals at two games apiece with a 2-1 victory over the Bruins Thursday at Verizon Center [1].

The Bruins never led in the game, as Washington took an early lead. A defensive breakdown by Andrew Ference [2] and Zdeno Chara [3] left Brian Rolston [4] back to defend a 2-on-1, and Marcus Johansson took advantage by bearing Tim Thomas [5] to give the Caps a 1-0 lead 1:22 into the game. Rich Peverley [6] tied the game later in the first with his second goal in as many games, but an Alexander Semin power-play goal gave Braden Holtby all help he needed.

The series will continue at TD Garden with Game 5 on Saturday, with Game 6 being played Sunday at Verizon Center [1].

WHAT WENT WRONG FOR THE BRUINS

- Because Peverley’s goal came on a line change with Campbell and Paille already on the ice, the Bruins’ top two lines still have not scored a goal this series. Peverley’s goal in Game 3 came during 4-on-4 play when he was skating with Chris Kelly [7].

- While some of the Bruins’ top forwards looked better on Thursday, David Krejci [8] wasn’t one of them. The Bruins had a perfect scoring chance in the first period when Tyler Seguin [9] entered the zone with speed and fed Krejci in front, but Krejci’s stick was not on the ice and he looked surprised by the feed. A similar play happened early in the third, when the B’s were set up in the Washington zone and a pass from Seguin to Krejci in front when through Krejci’s legs. He also couldn’t handle a pass from Andrew Ference [2] in front about eight minutes into the third.

Krejci had just one point in the first round last year before going on to lead the NHL [10] with 23 points.

- The Capitals were quiet in the first period, but they turned it on in the second. Washington had 15 shots on goal in the second period, and many of them were legitimate opportunities. The Bruins lucked out when Brooks Laich hit the crossbar with around 11:30 remaining in the period, but the Capitals eventually broke the tie on Semin’s goal, an absolute snipe from the right circle that beat Thomas glove side.

- Claude Julien [11] switched up the top two lines again in the third period, going with trios of Milan Lucic [12]David Krejci [8]Tyler Seguin [9] and Brad Marchand [13]Patrice Bergeron [14]Rich Peverley [6]. That’s a risky move when it comes to the Krejci line, as the trio of Lucic, Krejci and Seguin allowed a ton of goals when playing together towards the end of the regular season.

- The Bruins didn’t get their only power play of the game until over halfway through the first period, and they squandered it. They are now 0-for-12 on the man advantage this postseason.

WHAT WENT RIGHT FOR THE BRUINS

- The B’s held the Capitals to five shots on goal or less in a period for the third time this series when they kept Washington to three first-period shots on Tim Thomas [5]. The Capitals had a full two-minute power play late in the period, making the feat even more impressive for Boston and more embarrassing for Washington. Johansson’s goal remained Washington’s only shot on goal for the first 12 minutes, as Jason Chimera didn’t get the Capitals’ second shot until there was just over seven minutes left in the period.

Two of Washington’s three shots on goal in the first period were solid opportunities, however, as Johansson’s goal came on a 2-on-1 and Thomas had to stop Jay Beagle with a kick save in front following the Capitals power play.

- Tyler Seguin was a total ghost in the first three games of the series, but he was much more active in Game 4. He was more engaged in the play, battled more and more scoring opportunities. He was stopped by Holtby early in the second period when Marchand fed him near the right circle, only to have the goaltender cut down the angle to make the save.


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/19/capitals-tie-series-with-game-4-win/

URLs in this post:

[1] Verizon Center: http://media.weei.com/basketball/verizon-center.htm

[2] Andrew Ference: http://media.weei.com/hockey/andrew-ference.htm

[3] Zdeno Chara: http://media.weei.com/hockey/zdeno-chara.htm

[4] Brian Rolston: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brian-rolston.htm

[5] Tim Thomas: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tim-thomas.htm

[6] Rich Peverley: http://media.weei.com/hockey/rich-peverley.htm

[7] Chris Kelly: http://media.weei.com/hockey/chris-kelly.htm

[8] David Krejci: http://media.weei.com/hockey/david-krejci.htm

[9] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[10] NHL: http://media.weei.com/hockey/nhl.htm

[11] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[12] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[13] Brad Marchand: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brad-marchand.htm

[14] Patrice Bergeron: http://media.weei.com/hockey/patrice-bergeron.htm

[15] > Capitals tie series with Game 4 win" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/19/capitals-tie-series-with-game-4-win/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.