- Big Bad Blog - http://bigbadblog.weei.com -

Claude Julien: ‘Maybe in trouble, but we’re not dead’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 22, 2012 @ 10:50 am In General | No Comments


brightcove.createExperiences();

The Bruins know the refrain by now.

The series isn’t over till you win four games.

They repeated it over and over last year on their way to a sixth Stanley Cup [1] title. And Claude Julien [2] repeated it Saturday after a 4-3 gut-puncher at the hands of the Capitals at the Garden.

“Well there’€™s certainly lots of guys in that dressing room that have gone through that and there’€™s some others that are new to our hockey club that have to manage that as good as they can,” Julien said. “A guy like [Brian Rolston [3]], he’€™s got some experience so our guys that we’€™ve gotten are experienced guys so I don’€™t see that as an issue. We’€™re down 3-2 in the series and most people will tell you, until they win four games, that’€™s when the series is over. So we’€™ve got an opportunity to get back into this series and create a Game 7 and that’€™s what we’€™re going to try to do.”

There were positives from Saturday that the B’s will try to carry over to today in Washington, like Milan Lucic [4] getting in front of the net time and time again in the third period. Lucic’s “jam” in the slot created a point-blank chance for Tyler Seguin [5] with 10 minutes left. Only a superhuman effort by Braden Holtby kept the Bruins from a late lead in their own building.

“There are some good things ‘€“ I don’€™t think now’€™s the time to start collaborating all those things with players,” Julien said. “Sometimes you’€™ve got to feel that sting a little bit in order to get yourself ready the next day and we’€™ll address that tomorrow certainly before the game. Still a lot of good things that we did tonight and you look at some of the missed opportunities ‘€“ Seguin is one, he had grease tonight and those opportunities were there for him, so that’€™s a positive. You wish he would have put some of those in and it’€™s a different outcome. But building on the positives, and as I said, we’€™re maybe in trouble but we’€™re not dead and we’€™re certainly going to make tomorrow a game that’€™s going to create a Game 7 for us.”

Johnny Boychuk [6] finally blew a cannon past Holtby to tie the game on the power play to tie the game, 3-3. He sees a lot of hope.

“I thought we came out really well,” he said. “Again, [Holtby] played extremely well ‘€“ he made that one stop and stretched out and got it with his toe. We did play well, but it wasn’€™t good enough. They scored more goals than us and that’€™s the end of the day. We lost the game and [today], we have to win.”


Article printed from Big Bad Blog: http://bigbadblog.weei.com

URL to article: http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/22/claude-julien-maybe-in-trouble-but-were-not-dead/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stanley Cup: http://media.weei.com/hockey/stanley-cup.htm

[2] Claude Julien: http://media.weei.com/hockey/claude-julien.htm

[3] Brian Rolston: http://media.weei.com/hockey/brian-rolston.htm

[4] Milan Lucic: http://media.weei.com/hockey/milan-lucic.htm

[5] Tyler Seguin: http://media.weei.com/hockey/tyler-seguin.htm

[6] Johnny Boychuk: http://media.weei.com/hockey/johnny-boychuk.htm

[7] > Claude Julien: ‘Maybe in trouble, but we’re not dead’" data-url="http://bigbadblog.weei.com/sports/boston/hockey/bruins/2012/04/22/claude-julien-maybe-in-trouble-but-were-not-dead/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.